Problem vs Problem Solver ***Gem***

Talking about your problems doesn’t solve them. It doesn’t. Trust me. I talk to people about their problems for a living and one thing that I know for sure is…problems get solved when you talk about the solution. As a therapist, I am solution focused at times mainly because I know once you’ve carefully examined your choices and you want something to change it is important to make new/better/different choices moving forward. That is the best way not to end up in a predicament that you previously found yourself in. Many times the biggest choice is ….changing the way you THINK about the situation.
As Christians, I think we forget that at times the solution to every problem is God. So instead of lamenting about this or complaining about that it would benefit us more to talk about our ultimate problem solver-God.
I often have people tell me that they had no idea that something was ailing me or troubling me and trust me I have my moments where I am upset about something and engage in a general conversation about _____(insert anything that could possibly be negative) but I try very very very hard not to get in the habit of continually lamenting about something. I have my days where I want to shout from the rooftops how awful the day was (and I do!) but I am trying to develop of habit of recognizing the problem ,asking for prayer and leaving it alone. Give it to God and trust that he will take care of it after you have given it to him. Continue to PRAY about it as opposed to continuing to TALK about it. Sometimes it works and sometimes it doesn’t. The interesting thing is the same energy that I take magnifying the problem is the same energy that I could use to magnify the solution/problem solver/God.
This of course, is way easier said than done but it is something that I have to do very often. There are somedays where I have to check my thoughts (and my mouth) once every hour. Sometimes I can go 2 or 3 days at a time really focusing on magnifying God and not my problem.
I encourage you to make this a daily, hourly, minute by minute practice. The problem solver has your back!

One day at a time,

Gem

  1. #1 by Renee N. Smith on May 20, 2013 - 4:11 pm

    Love this Gem. I knew from the title that this was your post. It is awesome to be reminded that God is the answer to all the problems we have..and better yet will not only give us the answers but allow us to have a comforter when times get hard.

  2. #2 by Venus on May 20, 2013 - 7:38 pm

    Hey Algem! I love this post! Thanks for reminding me to change the way I think and to think about a solution! I know I have the habit of lingering onto a problem until it is solved. I know that I have to give all my problems to God. Love you! ~Venus

  3. #3 by starsinhereye on May 21, 2013 - 1:27 am

    My biggest issue remember to pray first. Halfway down a road or complaint, I remember I should pray instead of talking. Thanks for the reminder. I will pray for you and your path with praying for the problem instead of talking. Love you!
    ~Audrey

Leave a Reply

