Dust, Wind, Dude~Audrey

When we are very young, before we were old enough to make our friends family, our family are our only friends. On my mother’s side I was very close to two of her siblings, my Aunt Shelia and my Uncle Donald. For periods of time, both lived at my grandmother’s place and I got a double dose of family. I would stay with my grandmother those weekend and enjoy time with the goofy adults in my family.
I was lucky enough that my aunt had a daughter just nine months older than me. Growing up we were very close and spent lots of time together. But even when she had to spend time with her dad, I would still stay at Shelia’s house. I remember one time very clearly. She still lived on my grandmother land and we were watching The Little Mermaid. I was young and did not understand why Ariel’s tale was a different color on her TV. She told me simply something were just different. This would be a huge lesson for me as I grew up and learned to be accepting of others. This simple conversation helped instilled in me that quality of equality no matter how different we are.
She and my mom also taught me not to be scared of ghosts. My mom would tell me friendly ghost’s stories, but my aunt met and talked with these ghosts! Her easy going attitude helped me rewrite a fear I had because of my paternal grandmother. The woman had said that the door shutting on its own in the room where I napped was a ghost! Needless to say I did not get a lot sleep then. But now I do because I know most are friendly.
My last memory of Aunt Sheshe, as I called her when I was young, was probably one of the best last memories to have. It was this past Easter, and I had encouraged my boyfriend to come so he could meet this wonderful woman. It was a small intimate family gathering. We ate and laughed and enjoyed each other’s company. She was more quiet than usual but looked well and always had a smile on her face. Her joy for being with her family was contagious.
At her memorial they played songs that meant a lot to her. On was the beautiful “Dust in the Wind.” I have to disagree with the lyrics in this case. My aunt was more than just dust in the wind- she was love, she was happiness she is memory and she still is love. Just because her body is gone does not mean that she still does not live with in me. In my heart, I carry all those memories, especially from the “yellow house,” and hold them dear.
I am not good with speaking words in the moment. But here is a written legacy of my love for this woman and my family. She leaves behind some wonderful people, and she will live on as part of them.

  1. #1 by danigeorge25 on May 22, 2013 - 8:23 pm

    A Beautiful tribute to your Aunt. I love you hun!

  2. #2 by Renee N. Smith on May 22, 2013 - 8:33 pm

    I know this was very bitter-sweet for you to write, but it is a very touching story and dedication to a woman who you loved and who also loved you very much. Thank you for sharing your story and her legacy. Love you

  3. #3 by Venus on May 22, 2013 - 8:59 pm

    Hey Audrey Bear! I love this post! What a great way to remember your aunt! It sounds like she was an awesome person! I absolutely love the stories you shared! I’ll continue to keep you & your family in my prayers! Love you! ~Venus

Leave a Reply

