What Would You Do IF You Were Not Afraid-Renee`

My bestie and fellow Radicalin Gem, introduced me to this wonderful group called Lean In [you can learn more by visiting: (http://leanin.org/)]. The purpose of the group is to encourage women to Lean In..push themselves farther than they originally thought possible. The site shares stories from some incredible women (and some men)- it’s so encouraging. So much so that I actually bought the book on Amazon.

I was always taught from a very early age to dream and dream big. That I was capable of doing and excelling at anything I put my mind to…and then I grew up. As you grow you get the bumps and bruises of failures that can make even the most die hard person turn timid. I had a dream of helping people..but I had no idea what that dream would materialize into. Then I had my son and what was practical was making sure he was taken care of. So although I was working in my field doing things I loved..I didn’t allow myself to dream bigger, because now if I failed the cost was too high.

Now that I am married, and thank God I am married to someone who encourages me to think outside of the box and constantly tells me how capable I am..the dreams I once had are being reignited. I have live in support. My family and HIS girls are awesome, but you can hide certain facets of yourself when you’re not living with someone. Living with someone gives opportunities for true intimacy and a closer inspection of ones flaws. SO for me it is incredibly inspiring for someone to know my flaws so intimately yet..still tell me, that ME..little ol’ ME, can really do something amazing.

In fact, Isn’t this the story of God’s Love for us? God knows me more intimately than anyone-from the number of hairs on my head to my very thoughts..good, bad, indifferent HE knows. YET, He still says and shows me He loves me even at my most unlovable moments. 

Love can inspire people to change- Love can give people the wings to fly even in the most tumultuous weather.  With that being said; I am now focusing on what would I do with myself if I were not afraid? How would I live my life differently if I didn’t have fear weighing me down? This question is honestly the crux of this entire Rad7even journey- building a more personal relationship with Christ so the cares (and fears) of this life won’t hinder us from our divine purpose. Now that this has finally crystallized (it only took two years LOL) I am looking at this journey from a different perspective..with less of my will involved and more of my Spirit… who knows where this will go.

Leaning In,

Renee`

, , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Venus on June 17, 2013 - 10:41 pm

    Hey Nee! Great post! There is nothing wrong w/ dreaming big but we have to take certain steps to achieve our dreams! Having failures suck but from our failures we learn powerful lessons. I’m glad that your relationship has grown w/ God! Isn’t it awesome how well God knows us? Are you still on your No Fear Campaign? Kudos to you for wanting to let fear go & do things you would like to do! Love you! ~Venus

  2. #2 by radical7even on June 18, 2013 - 1:49 pm

    Love love this blog…i think this journey taught me that being radical is not all about action but also by changing your mindset.

Leave a Reply

