Be the Best YOU Can Be! ~Venus

Hey everyone! So based on the title, you’re probably already know what this post is going to about. As some of you may or may not know, I work in food service. When I got hired w/ my job I began as a cashier. At work, I get bored a LOT! I don’t like to stand around and not do anything. So when I get like that, I find something to do. My managers get on me all the time about staying at the cash register, but I really can’t do it..lol..I have to find things to stock or clean. I just CAN’T stand there my hold entire shift. What I began to do with my boredom was going to the other food stations and learning what my co-workers do. On the side of the building I work in, we have a pasta/pizza station, a flatbread sandwich station, a  soup station, a homestyle food station, and a fajita/Asian stirfry station (it used to be a salad station). I learned how to work each station. I even learned how to prep for some of the food stations!

Once my managers noticed that I knew how to work the other stations, they took full advantage of me. lol! I would get pulled sometimes to work certain stations. In the spring semester of this yr, I was moved from being a cashier to working on the line (a food station). I was kind of disappointed to move because I liked being a cashier. My job hired new cashiers and I had to train them so they took my place. =( However, I knew that I was capable of doing the work each station. I became what they call a “floater”. A floater is person that move from station to station assisting others that may need help. A floater also relieve people for breaks. Most people probably wouldn’t have bothered to learn how to work other positions. How can you be flexible and grow if you don’t know how to do other things?

I know you may be wondering what is the point of me saying all this..Ok, I’m going to get to it! lol! Whatever job you have, be the best you can be at it even if you don’t like your job! Not only know how to do your job, learn how to do your co-workers job. You never know, your boss might give you a promotion! Trust me when I say, managers notice hard work! A lot of people at my job tell me that I’m a hard worker. I take my job very seriously even though it’s not my dream job.  I try my best to be on time for work. There only have been a few times that I’ve been late to work (it hasn’t been often)…lol. Most people at my workplace know that I do my job. If  I have to stay late to make sure that my area is stocked and cleaned, I will do it!

Let’s transition for a moment. I’m going to give an example of someone outside of myself (lol) that was the best he could be. His name is Booker T. Washington (my high school is named after him). I’m just going to give a quick story about him. He was born a slave. He was a hard worker. One of the jobs he had was being a janitor while he was attending a college. He took his job very seriously. He ended up getting a scholarship to his school by the founder/headmaster. The founder/headmaster saw how hard he worked!   Booker T. Washington was also the founder of Tuskegee Institute (Tuskegee University). Here is a link to learn more about Booker T. Washington: http://www.biography.com/people/booker-t-washington-9524663?page=1

I believe that hard work  pays off. Even though I work in food service right now, I know that it is temporary. I don’t plan on staying in food service for the rest of my life..lol! I have a degree and  I want to work in my field one day. I have a heart to work in Social Services. I currently volunteer w/ a clinic that provide services such as free testing for pregnancy/STI’s and free parenting classes. I also am a director of two programs in my sorority.  I know that God will bless me w/ a career in his timing. Until I get my foot in the door w/ my career, I will continue to work hard and develop myself. Even when God does bless me, I will continue to work hard. God bless!

~Venus

  1. #1 by Renee N. Smith on June 26, 2013 - 12:15 pm

    Good for you Venus. You could take this entire experience and not learn anything, but I’m learning that God uses everything. Remember when David went up against Goliath? Before he had that challege he scared of bears and lions from attacking his sheep (experience). If David decided that losing one sheep was not important he wouldn’t have built his skill set to defeat Goliath.
    I needed to read this..it has def helped me to put stuff in perspective

    • #2 by Venus on June 26, 2013 - 6:49 pm

      Amen! I love the story of David & Goalith! I love what what you said about David & his skill set. That is so true! I’m so glad you got something out of my post! Love you!!! ~Venus

  2. #3 by radical7even on June 26, 2013 - 2:06 pm

    Great post Venus!! It is great knowing that you are encouraged in your current job even if isn’t where you want to be.

    • #4 by radical7even on June 26, 2013 - 2:06 pm

      This is Dani..lol

    • #5 by Venus on June 26, 2013 - 6:53 pm

      Thank you Dani! I have to encourage myself where I’m at in my life right now. I know that God has a plan for my life & that there are some things have to be developed within me. There also things in my life that has to be pruned! Thanks for saying it was you logged under Radical7even. lol! Love you!

Leave a Reply

