Cleaning Out My Closet ~Venus

Hello everyone! Over the past couple of months, I’ve been doing some serious closet cleaning. I’m not talking about my personal closet at my apt but my spiritual closet. As many of you may or may not know, I’ve been single for a little bit over a year (a year, 2 months, and 2 days to be exact lol). I seriously thought that all of my issues were dealt with and that I was good. Nope, not the case! I’ve been dealing w/ loneliness, getting over an experience that I dealt w/ my senior yr of college, healing from past hurt,  and healing from past relationships to name a few. Facing those things haven’t been easy.

I think the biggest lie we can tell ourselves is that we are ok when we aren’t.  It’s essential to do a heart check and make sure that you deal w/ the issues of your heart. I know that one of my defense mechanisms is suppression.T here are other coping mechanisms besides suppression. If someone or something hurts me real bad and I don’t want to deal with it at the moment, I suppress it .  According to dictionary.com, suppress  is ” from Latin suppressus  held down, from supprimere  to restrain, from sub-  down + premere  to press”. What happens with suppression is that you constantly push down things internally that hurts you.

I’m going to give a quick example related to suppression.  Imagine that you have a hamburger. Let’s say that the hamburger bun represent your heart and a hamburger patty represents an issue (stay w/ me here lol).  So let’s say that your issues are abandonment, loneliness, depression,  anger, and trusting people. Those are 5 issues right there. So imagine that there are 5  hamburger patties stacked on top of each other. There are 5 issues that are being piled on top of each other in your heart.  Now let’s add more issues such as sex addiction, low self-esteem, and unhappiness. Now you have  a total of 8 issues that you have to deal with. That’s a lot right?  Think of suppression as a form of  procrastination. When people procrastinate, they often put off things that are important. So with suppression, you’re putting off those issues you need to deal with. You tell yourself you’re going to deal with it and you continue to put it off. Well guess what? You can only put off things for so long  until you have to deal with it. The more things you suppress, the more you have to deal with.

Suppressing things isn’t healthy. For me, the things that I suppress are often triggered whether it’s by a song or something that someone says to me. When those things are triggered, it’s not good. Depending on how bad the issue is, I could go into a depression (which isn’t good either). It’s just better to deal with things right when it happens instead of dealing with it later. Yes, it will hurt but you’ll be better off .

I heard on a teleconference bible study that I was on a few weeks ago that the enemy tries to keep us bound by our issues. He knows that if we don’t deal with them, he got us!  The speaker of the call made an analogy of issues being like a chain. Every time you try to break away, you can’t because your issues are chained to you. Every where you go, your issues go with you. Please pray and ask God to show you those issues in your heart that are hidden deep within. Ask God to break the chains that have you bound!  Pray for deliverance! I can honestly say that God is really healing me and he is making me better. There isn’t anything to painful, that God can’t heal. You want to be whole without voids!   Deal with your baggage! It’s time to clean out our spiritual closets ya’ll!  God bless!

~Venus

P.S. I apologize if I was repetitive in this post. I sometimes don’t realize how many times I have used a word..lol..I hope that my post was able to help someone and also was easy to understand. The assignments that my mentor and life coach has given me have allowed me to do a lot of self-evaluation. I think that those assignments have been the biggest thing in helping me recognize my issues.

I did a few radical things this month. I bought my 1st Dunkin Donut (key lime pie)! We recently had a Dunkin Donuts open in my area.  I was so happy! I made turkey burger sliders and a casserole for the first time! I made a casserole that had chicken, alfredo sauce, rice, mixed vegetables, w/ a breadcrumb/panko/cheese mixture on top. It turned out good! The inspiration for the casserole came from Stouffer’s Grandma Chicken Rice Bake that I tried. I was like I’m so going to make my version of this! lol! I also joined Plenty of Fish w/ my female friend. She didn’t want to be on there by herself. She had to do a lot of convincing. lol! The website is ok.

My grandmother on my dad’s side passed away the Thursday before last. Her funeral was on last Monday.  I didn’t attend her funeral but I did see her at the funeral home last Sunday. She looked beautiful! Please keep my family in your prayers!

-I know that this isn’t a Christian song but I like it! lol! I couldn’t think of another song to go with this post.

We Wear the Mask by Paul Laurence Dunbar – I love this poem! It’s an oldie but it’s good!

Spiritual Spring Cleaning – A must read article!

  1. #1 by Renee N. Smith on July 1, 2013 - 3:46 pm

    If your last few posts haven’t been hitting me in the heart! this was beautiful and I never looked at suppression as a form of procrastination but you are so right! I procrastinate like crazy and no one really likes to deal with issues because there is a pain associated with them as well. Thank you for being brave enough to share your struggles, because in due time it will be your testimony. Love you

    • #2 by Venus on July 2, 2013 - 3:45 pm

      Hey Nee! Aww thank you! I’m glad that my posts have been a blessing to you! We write our posts not for ourselves but to encourage other people. I’m a procrastinator as well so I can relate to you! Lol! Sometimes it can be challenging to put myself out there with sharing my struggles but I think that it has allowed me to be more open. You’re not going to always be on the up & up. Everyone has issues whether they want to admit it or not. Love you too! ~Venus

  2. #3 by starsinhereye on July 3, 2013 - 6:40 pm

    Hey girl.
    First piece of advice: stop counting. enjoy your life instead of quantifying them as single or together. Soon you will forget how long it’s been and you’ll realize how much fun your life is.
    Proud of you for seeing the suppression issues. You have taken the first step to getting over your issues.. Now that is radical!

  3. #4 by Venus on July 3, 2013 - 7:32 pm

    Hey Audrey Bear! You’re right about stop counting! I’m trying to learn how to be content in my singleness. It has been a struggle. Thanks for the advice! Thank you for being proud of me! Love you! ~Venus

Leave a Reply

