All my Children ***by Pam***

Wow! It has been a while since I posted. The spring was very busy time for us at the plant nursery. I did still manage to seed and harvest my own crops. I also managed to do it all organically! (Patting myself on the back.) I am starting to feed my family more organic foods so my hobby did end up saving us some money too. I grew a few types of lettuce, radishes, carrots, chives, cilantro, and I still have some other herbs and squash going. It felt good to eat food that I had actually grown. There is really nothing like the taste of fresh from the garden veggies to me. I feel blessed to know how to grow my own food. Not every girl is taught how to grow veggies, fish, and hunt. Even if my husband was not the awesome provider that he is, my family would never need to go hungry. There is a certain comfort in that and I am sure once the kids are grown I will do this on a bigger scale that I do now.

We are expecting a grandson in a few months. I got to throw my oldest daughter a baby shower where she got pretty much everything she will need. We are all very excited as we watch the miracle grow in her belly. We are praying for a safe and full term delivery. It is a high risk pregnancy so she has been put on bed rest. I am not worried because I know God is in control. My other kids are all younger and they have so many questions about the baby whenever she visits us. Trying to figure out when to have the facts of life talk with some of my special needs kids is a really tough call. My middle school aged kid still believes in Santa and the tooth fairy. He and some of the others are in special classes that are tailored to their specific learning abilities and behavioral issues. One issue we deal with is that they look normal. So strangers see them acting like a younger child would and immediately judge us as parents. Sometimes people say things. The kids also need extra safety measures because they do not understand what can actually hurt them. Stranger safety out in public for instance. I cannot let my kids go to the restroom in a restaurant, ride their bike down the street, or really even play in the yard without me. They will just wander off and talk to anyone. There is no real guidelines for special needs parents as each child can be so different. We just have to do our best, and give them love. Like I said before, I am not worried because I know God is in control. That is all the news for now. Have a blessed day!                                                                                                           Pam

  1. #1 by Renee N. Smith on July 4, 2013 - 3:22 pm

    Beautiful blog pam! I always love hearing about the family. Kudos for maintaining an organic garden, being an awesome wife,mother and employee..that’s no small task. I love you all and can’t believe how big everyone is

  2. #2 by Venus on July 5, 2013 - 4:45 am

    Hey Pam! I’m happy to see you write a post!!!! Congrats on your organic garden & your daughter having your grandson! I know dealing w/ special needs can be challenging! Kudos to you & your husband for taking them in, caring for them, & loving them! Love you!

  3. #3 by starsinhereye on July 5, 2013 - 2:59 pm

    Here’s a great big pat on the back for you! You are rocking the Radical! I pray for their safety and your peace! Love you!

Leave a Reply

