Sometimes I Forget~Audrey

And all things, whatsoever ye shall ask in prayer, believing, ye shall receive.

Matthew 21:22

I have spent the last two months inspired by a certain Bible verse. It’s the one you see above. One interpretation:  “Have you prayed about it as much as you’ve talked about it?”

Powerful question, huh?

I don’t and I aim to change that. I have talked and talked about issues at work-with coworkers, with friends, with my 64202_10151566359304766_351983330_nprayer group, and, occasionally, in prayer. If I stopped and prayed every time I had the urge to complain, my prayers would uncountable.

Too often we find release in just talking to others. While this is a good coping strategy, it is not the be-all-end-all. You have to take it to God because if you don’t nothing happens. Your words are just wasted breath.

No wonder nothing in my life is changing. I am striving to pray about it every time I talk about it. Legs hurting? Pray for healing! Coworker annoying me? Pray for peace! Things difficult at home? Pray for understanding!

Sometimes, I forget. Sometime, I forget–a lot. But I have this graphic pinned to my wall to remind myself. Each time I looked at it, I have that same light bulb reaction and instantly pray.

I’m not there yet, but one day I will pray as much as I complain or as much as I worry. I’ve gotten good at the worry and pray, now for the talk and pray.

  1. #1 by Venus on July 30, 2013 - 12:00 am

    Hey Audrey Bear!!! I love your post!!! I agree that we should pray about everything!!! I’ll continue to keep you in my prayers! Love you! ~Venus~

  2. #2 by radical7even on July 30, 2013 - 8:08 pm

    All I can say is Amen!! You hit the nail on the head

    Dani

Leave a Reply

