Letting Go of Baggage- Renee`

For what is a man profited, if he shall gain the whole world, and lose his own soul? or what shall a man give in exchange for his soul? Matthew 16:26 KJV

Recently I helped a family member move and I remember thinking: “my God…when did we accumulate all this stuff?”. When you live in a place for a certain amount of time your items tend to pile up and you may not notice it at first or at all,until something happens that makes you take note. I always thought of myself as not materialistic that things are just things and I do not get attached…well when I moved to the “city” from Montgomery….I realized how attached to my “things” I was. You see, when you move there are things that you have to throw away..or get broke.. it happens in almost every move. I was so stressed out, because I had a plan for every piece of furniture. Every piece. Then…my husband and his friends moved my items while I was at work and when  I came home; yall I had a meltdown LOL. Don’t get me wrong my hubby did a great job moving, but like I said sometimes things get broken or end up left behind. I wasn’t ready just yet to let certain items go. I realize now that the “things” were important to me because it was a physical manifestation of how far I had come. How far God brought me. I moved from my mother’s home,-to a two bed room apartment(with a roommate)-to my own two bedroom within a year. That was a huge accomplishment for me to really begin to stand on my own two feet. This was my first real apartment where everything inside those walls were mine. I worked hard to get it furnished and decorate it just like I wanted..so when I moved from there I wasn’t sure what to do with how I felt. It all seems absolutely ridiculous now that I even mourned my items the way I did and thank God my husband didn’t think he married a complete nutcase and still welcomed me with open arms LOL.

But I realized as I moved my family members things, that I did not need all the stuff that I actually brought with me to the city. In fact, for the past 6 months…all of the items that were so near and dear have been sitting in storage collecting dust. It was then that both my husband and I realized..it’s time to let that stuff go. I don’t use any of it on a regular basis in fact..if you asked me to recall what exactly was in storage I couldn’t do it.

So we have decided to sell all the items in storage, save the money and when the time comes (and the need arises) replace the stuff. You see everything here is temporal. That car you love so much will eventually rust, get into an accident or just flat out stop working. That dress you’re eyeing right now will eventually get stuck in the closet ( sometimes somewhere towards the back) with all your other must-haves. I am not saying that having nice things isn’t good, or that everyone should live like nomads, but I am saying that sometimes we get so caught up in things that have no value outside of it’s place on this earth. Our relationships..those are things that are eternal. If you submit to Christ and build one with Him; you will get a chance to be with Him..forever. Hopefully, if you live your life right-those other brothers and sisters in Christ will be there with you as well. I hope and pray that my HIS and I will be eternal friends 🙂

Eternally Focused,

Renee` 

, , , , ,

  1. #1 by starsinhereyeblog on August 8, 2013 - 3:50 pm

    Gorgeous post! Life is about the relationships! Love you!
    ~Audrey

  2. #2 by Venus on August 9, 2013 - 11:11 pm

    Hey Renee!!! I love this post! I hate moving! When I moved in the apartment I live in now, I couldn’t fit everything that I had. So I also had to throw things away & the rest of my things are at my mom’s house. I know moving from Montgomery to B-Ham was a big change & transition for you. I know how hard it is to let go of things! I wil say that the relationships that are meant to be are eternal. People come and go. The ones that are meant to stay will stick around. I’m so proud of far you have come & where you are now! 😉 Love you!

Leave a Reply

