Dire Straits Part 4~Audrey

The Road to Answers

Last week was crazy for me. I had to work without a weekend and was very tired. But something great came out of last week: I finally got onto the road to answers.
I went to see my General Physician for a follow up. He saw I was not doing better, and agreed to refer me to a rheumatologist. When the nurse called, they didn’t have a new opening until October. When my nurse told them how badly I needed to see the doc, they told me there had been a cancellation at 1:30. I made a few phone calls (covering things at work at) and went.
I spent an hour there. The whole time was spent with a nurse or the doctor. The doc asked me questions and seemed very concerned. He did a brief physical exam and confirmed that, yes, I did have neuropathy. The neuropathy is in the smaller secondary nerves which would not have shown up in the tests the neurologist did.
The nurse then took at least a dozen vials of blood testing me for a variety of things. I had to do a 24 hour urine test to see if I had heavy metal toxicity. I go back Sept. for results. He did not give me a guess; he’s waiting to see what the tests say. But there is a big possibility that it’s autoimmune. The worst part? Because of my Chronic Kidney Disease, I can’t have an arthritis medicine. We are going to have to be creative about dealing with pain.
I am very excited and not really scared. That’s not to say I’m not upset. The fact that I have dead nerves bothers me a lot, but I know already that whatever it is it isn’t fatal. Right now the worst case scenario is lupus, and with that, I can still live a healthy, active life.
But we don’t know anything concrete right now. I will not let this disrupt my peace. I am still going to Dragon Con at the end of the month. I have rented a scooter to use since it hurts to walk. I refuse to let this ruin my life. Answers come soon.

  1. #1 by Renee N. Smith on August 23, 2013 - 7:51 pm

    I admire your strength and positive outlook! I am praying for anwers and a solution to ur health issues. Love u

  2. #2 by Venus on August 24, 2013 - 7:42 am

    Hey Audrey Bear! I understand how it is to have a crazy week! Last week was crazy for me too! Well I’m glad that you got some answers! I hope that the results you receive next month isn’t bad. I’m happy that you have a positive outlook. I don’t know if my outlook would be so positive if I was in your shoes. I’ll be praying for you! Love you! ~Venus

Leave a Reply

