Last Day of August ~Venus

Hello everyone! So my plan was to post the awesome pics that I took of food that I cooked but for some reason, I’m not able to do so. =( I sent pics from my phone to my e-mail but my computer won’t let me save them as pictures, instead they are showing up as links. I don’t know why. Once I figure the whole picture situation out, I will post them. =) Anywho, I can’t believe today is the last day of this month! Crazy right? I went through a lot this month. I was laid off from work for 2 weeks (towards the end of July). I received my final paycheck for the summer at the beginning of the month. I returned back to work on August 10th. August 10th was also my birthday and I turned 26 yrs old. I didn’t do anything special. I bought myself icecream cupcakes from Winn Dixie.

On August 9th, I received a gift card from my apartments so I was really happy to receive that! Also on the 9th, I went to my job’s orientation. At the beginning of this month, “Wale” and I stopped talking which made me sad. The roughest week I had this month was the week of August 11th because I was super stressed out. I walked to work that whole week. One of those days, someone I knew gave me a ride to work half of the way from where I was walking. It rained a lot and I remember one day I got soaked in the rain even though I had my umbrella. On the days that I walk to work, I wake up two hours before my shift starts. The first hour I eat and get ready for work. The second hour I walk to work. It takes me 45 minutes to walk to work usually. It’s not fun walking to work in the sun, the rain, or when it’s cold. I walk to work when the transit bus is not running. The transit bus, the public bus (they are two different buses), and the night shuttle are my main modes of transportation.

August 14th was the deadline of the scholarship that I’m the director of for my sorority. I’ve been working hard all summer to promote My bills were due back to back that week and the following week (August 18th). I had to use the money that I had from my savings to pay my bills because I didn’t have a lot of money in my account. By the end of the week, I was out of it. I went to a Purity Ceremony for the Pink Tourmaline program of my sorority on that Friday (August 16th) w/ my soror that lives in my area. The funny thing is that she asked me if I wanted to go to the event and my brain was stuck on the things I had to do on Saturday..Smh! It took a while for me to realize that she was talking about Friday and not Saturday.

Someone blessed me (by paying my way which was $5) w/ a online session for a women’s conference on that Saturday. I basically had to create an account on a website and then watch the conference online. The session I watched was called “Running of Faith w/ E Resources”. Boy, did I need that word!The E stands for empty. The message in a nutshell was how we should have faith despite of how things look like and trust God. I got a cold on last Saturday and I still have a cold! =( I hope that my cold be over by next week! A few radical things that I did this month was cook enchiladas for the 1st time, fajitas for the 1st time, and BBQ meatballs! I also ate/bought icecream cupcakes which I talked about earlier in the blog. I’m planning my best friend’s baby shower. It’s in November. My friend “Candy” visited me twice this month. It was so happy that she visited me! My best friend “K” also spent the night w/ me one night. =) I always be happy when people visit me because I hardly have any visitors. I also met w/ my mentor at the beginning of this month. I joined a new ministry called We are the Standard of Excellence! God bless!

~Venus

  1. #1 by renee n. smith on September 8, 2013 - 6:20 pm

    You had a busy month! Can’t wait to see how ur rad2 goals went 🙂 love u

Leave a Reply

