To Your Health-Renee`

Hey Radical World!

I can’t believe next week is the last week of September…where oh where did the month go???

I am falling behind on my reading of the Bible goal by the end of this year already! I can’t understand why I am so tired at night.. I’ve literally fallen asleep almost every night while I am reading. So I am really trying to straighten this goal out..it’s important to me to really know and study the Bible like I should.

The past two weeks I have been focused on my emotional health..working on taking breaks at work when things get stressful and these past two weeks have probably been the hardest I have had (professionally) since I moved to the City. I love social services and hate social services for all the same reasons. You are able to help people in a very direct and meaningful way, but you are also involved with individuals that have complex and some times chronic issues. Issues that were there long before they entered case management..how do I make their time in case management meaningful? I work hard at being personable and to show people that I am human ( some clients tend to see us as a cog in a machine). But it can still be very taxing and I have carried things home more often than I should. So, I am learning to set better boundaries at work. I work hard on the goals and tasks at hand, but if a client chooses to make decisions that I disagree with or take steps back I am working on not being overly invested. Their decisions are just that… theirs. I cannot hold onto something that is out of my control even if I know it can cause negative consequences for them.

I have also decided to make some firm decisions about a very emotionally taxing relationship. I was really torn between confronting someone and terminating the relationship or just letting things remain the same. Because I am serious about trying to follow the Bible’s advice on this topic about honoring people I decided to let the relationship stay the way it was. There was no need to get overly caught up if this person contacted me or made time for me. If they wanted to spend time with me..then I would indulge them..and if not I would continue with my daily life and routine..no need for dramatics. Let the relationship evolve or dissolve organically…Godly.

Breathe In, Breathe Out

Renee`

, , , ,

  1. #1 by Venus on September 19, 2013 - 7:15 am

    Hey Nee! I’m glad that you’re learning to take a step back from your clients’ decisions. I know that you want the best for them but at the end if the day, they have to live w/ their decisions. I hope that you’re able to get back on track w/ your bible reading! Maybe you should try reading it in the morning instead of at night. I’m glad you made your final decision on the emotional taxing relationship! Love you! ~Venus

  2. #2 by renee n. smith on September 19, 2013 - 6:49 pm

    That’s a great idea Venus..I think I will try reading in the morning.
    Im learning to focus on what I can do..and not on what they choose to do ya know

  3. #3 by radical7even on September 20, 2013 - 4:50 pm

    hey girl! I am so glad you have started taking breaks at work. I have a radical idea: why don’t you use those break time to read your Bible passages? This will give you a much needed emotional and spiritual break! Keep up the good work on defeating stress! You can do it! Love you!
    ~Audrey

Leave a Reply

