Year 3 Goals *Kelly*

Drum roll please…

Here are my year 3 goals. I’m trying to make them both realistic and beneficial. No more composting this year! You know what happens when you mix composting and procrastination? Slimy stuff that smells really, really bad. More ‘really’s are called for, but I don’t like redundancies. 

Without further ado:

1. Blog monthly.

This is a basic, but one I have neglected. Most of last year I would not have known I didn’t post if one of my lovely HIS girls hadn’t reminded me. The months go by quickly! This time I’ll use my calendar to try and keep it up. They might not all be zingers, but they shall BE.

2. Read the other ladies’ blogs.

I used to read the blogs my HIS girls wrote and it was a great way to keep up with them. If for nothing else, that along made signing up for Radical7 well worth the effort. I will resume this as it will be good for me both spiritually and socially (and therefore emotionally).

3. Do my best to complete this pregnancy in a healthy, happy manner and deliver a healthy, happy baby to his or her deserving parents. 

I can’t think of a better goal to make this year a success. This whole surrogacy journey has been a big leap of faith and so far everything has come together just like it’s meant to be. I feel blessed in this little circle of love. Every time the baby kicks I feel the love. I’m going to return the love to all involved by taking care of myself throughout the rest of this gestation. My due date is February 19th. Send us prayers and good vibes!

4. Work with passion and conviction, DURING work hours.

One thing that drained me dry emotionally and spiritually was working overtime and becoming too invested in work vs. my private life. I learned during that past year that both are important, and both have their time for a reason. I am not going to shirk work duties during work hours to relax with my family. Likewise, the goal is to not interrupt my family time with work obligations. They deserve my time too.

5. Trust!

My name is Kelly and I am a control freak. Trust isn’t a strong suit of mine. I want to relax into the comforting side of my relationship with God and just learn to trust more that my family and I are blessed for a reason. I want to enjoy life with confidence that everything will work out for the good of those that love Him. I don’t expect God to make me a millionaire or adhere to a prayer that is sure to get me anything if I walk around it 7 times and say the right words. It astonishes me that some people base their religion on things like that. I just want to relax into my spirituality a bit and learn to trust.

6. Get back into grad school.

This is a personal goal for me and also something I want for the good of my family. I am leaning away from the idea of going for a Ph.D., namely because I want a balanced life with time for Elias. I don’t think I can maintain that kind of balance with the sheer time commitment it takes to do well in a Ph.D. program. I think a master’s program that will prepare me to become a licensed counselor with be professionally satisfying without putting too much of a dent in my quality time with my little family.

7. Be supportive of the people in my life.

I spend much of last year working a job that was rewarding, but took a lot out of me in terms of energy both physically and emotionally. Just as my HIS girl Algem predicted, I have much more energy to devote towards my family and friends now. I feel like myself again. I’m happy and upbeat like I used to be. That is even with having all of the pregnancy hormones flowing. I want to focus this year on making a positive impact right in the lives of the people closest to me. If you are reading this, that probably includes you. Wish me luck (for your sake too)! 😀

Thank you for reading this. I hope to report back next year that I met all of these goals and had some great experiences. Your prayers and support are appreciated.

-Kelly

  1. #1 by Venus on September 19, 2013 - 7:10 am

    Hey Kels!! Great goals! I feel you on the trust thing. I don’t think I’m a control freak but I have a hard time trusting God & people. I can’t wait until you have the baby!!! That’s so exciting! I understand that you want a balanced life! I’m glad you’re starting to feel like yourself again! Yay you’re back! Love you! ~Venus

  2. #2 by Renee N. Smith on September 20, 2013 - 7:14 pm

    Love the goals Kelly..esp the part trying to blog more often..we all are so busy and I use this and the group to attempt to keep up with everything everyone is doing. These goals seem very balanced and I can’t wait to see you kick year three’s butt! love you

Leave a Reply

