In Your Face **Danielle**

I haven’t been reading my bible like I’m supposed to. I know that and God knows that. For some reason, he keeps me around (grateful). Sunday morning, I decided to begin my morning, reading a book my Rad7 sister Renee gave me for Christmas 2012 ( I know..it has taken me long time to crack it open). It is called Made to Crave- Satisfying Your Deepest Desires with God, not Food by Lysa Terkeurst. **It is prayer to have my reflections on this book in the next coming blog posts. When reading the introduction and Chapter 1, Lysa shared three ways  Satan tries to lure us away from Loving God : 1. Cravings of the sinful man 2. The lust of his eyes 3. Boasting of what he has or does. She then goes on to illustrate how Jesus was tempted by Satan, Matthew 4 1-11:

Then Jesus was led by the Spirit into the wilderness to be tempted by the devil. After fasting forty days and forty nights, he was hungry. The tempter came to him and said, “If you are the Son of God, tell these stones to become bread.”

Jesus answered, “It is written: ‘Man shall not live on bread alone, but on every word that comes from the mouth of God.”

Then the devil took him to the holy city and had him stand on the highest point of the temple. “If you are the Son of God,” he said, “throw yourself down. For it is written:

“‘He will command his angels concerning you, and they will lift you up in their hands, so that you will not strike your foot against a stone.

Jesus answered him, “It is also written: ‘Do not put the Lord your God to the test.]

Again, the devil took him to a very high mountain and showed him all the kingdoms of the world and their splendor. “All this I will give you,” he said, “if you will bow down and worship me.”

10 Jesus said to him, “Away from me, Satan! For it is written: ‘Worship the Lord your God, and serve him only.”

11 Then the devil left him, and angels came and attended him.

Cravings: Satan appealed to Jesus’ physical craving for food.

Lust of the eyes: The devil promised Jesus entire kingdoms if he would bow down to the god of materialism.

Boasting: The enemy enticed Jesus to prove his significance by forcing God to command angels to save him.

What I thought was so empowering was that whenever the devil tried to tempt Jesus, Jesus came back to him with scriptures. He was confident in those words. Fast forward  a couple of hours, I went to my first church visit. It was a local Church of Christ, literally less than 2 miles from my home. They were very welcoming. The pastor’s message dealt with how to use the word of God. The main scripture was Ephesians 6:10.17:

10 Finally, be strong in the Lord and in his mighty power. 11 Put on the full armor of God, so that you can take your stand against the devil’s schemes. 12 For our struggle is not against flesh and blood, but against the rulers, against the authorities, against the powers of this dark world and against the spiritual forces of evil in the heavenly realms. 13 Therefore put on the full armor of God, so that when the day of evil comes, you may be able to stand your ground, and after you have done everything, to stand. 14 Stand firm then, with the belt of truth buckled around your waist, with the breastplate of righteousness in place, 15 and with your feet fitted with the readiness that comes from the gospel of peace. 16 In addition to all this, take up the shield of faith, with which you can extinguish all the flaming arrows of the evil one. 17 Take the helmet of salvation and the sword of the Spirit, which is the word of God.

What was different and I found that I liked was that the pastor scripture jumped. He didn’t stick with the main scripture that he started with: he showed several supporting scriptures of how the word of God has been used and should be used. Examples included: 2 Timothy 2:15, Hebrews 4:12, Jeremiah 23:29, and wouldn’t you know it, one of the scriptures that he Jumped to? MATTHEW 4:1-11 I see you! God wants us to seek him, to search him. He wants us to know his word and his truth. He decided to show me some thing that I would later hear again and be able to put it in my brain and incorporate in my spiritual mindset. I sat in the church, amazed of God’s glory and grace. Sometimes, It just takes a morning reading to help you realize that God is listening and he is still there.

Still Pushing with my reading glasses on,

Danielle

,

  1. #1 by renee n. smith on September 24, 2013 - 11:15 pm

    I can’t begin to tell you how much I love this blog! I love when God comfirms a word for us..those gentle reminders are very helpful in giving me that extra “umph” when times get hard. So excited to know the book helped!

  2. #2 by starsinhereye on September 25, 2013 - 4:39 pm

    I love when God just slaps you in the face and says “pay attention”! This connection humbles me and really gets my attention. This is a great story and I love the passage about the armor. We do need to put it on each day!
    ~Audrey

  3. #3 by Venus on October 5, 2013 - 6:10 am

    Hey Dani! I love your blog post as well! I think it was a very powerful lesson! =) I like how you gave examples of how Jesus was tempted by Satan. ~Venus

Leave a Reply

