Changing Seasons-Renee`

1380743_10151620688601557_1104777962_n

Ecclesiastes 3:1 There is a time for everything, and a season for every activity under the heavens

Autumn is my season for change; this change usually occurs in October, but is not limited to that month. It happens so often  I literally wonder what will change every single October; I’ve actually come to suspect and expect a change. This October has been no different.

One of my Rad7even goals was to find organizations and groups that line up with my passion to help youth; and I am excited to say that I have just accepted a new position working with youth again. I absolutely love working with people in general and have spent the past two years working with adults (which I have thoroughly enjoyed) and now I am back working with youth again! I am super excited and of course nervous. I have been in case management for two years and I am happy and proud to say that God has really given me a great ability to be a good case manager. So, I know that I am capable of doing this job and doing it well so transitioning to something new also bring ups things of self doubt. I read this really great article on something called the “impostor syndrome” (which you can read here http://shriverreport.org/10-ways-to-overcome-impostor-syndrome-joyce-roche/ ). I think I experience this often because I am usually the youngest person in the office, or the only woman, or the only person of color or there’s some difference between my counterparts and myself. I have learned that different can be a great thing and I think it has helped me to excel in various places because my background is so diverse.

I have taken this changing seasons sentiment as a challenge from God. I move mountains for those around me, but I try to do the opposite for myself. Don’t make too many waves just try to keep calm and peace. This can be a good thing, but there is a time and a place to speak.

Remember my last post, how I felt I have lost confidence in myself? I somehow became a voice for the voiceless and lost my own voice in the process. I have become so used to focusing on others that I just sit and think..well that’s ok..or this is ok..when deep down i feel  it is not ok. This also ties into my emotional health goal; if I don’t speak up for myself and start setting firm boundaries; no one will know how I feel and continue to do things that may hurt me or not in the most efficient way because I don’t speak up. My voice is just as important as the next person, or the people I serve. I actually do a disservice to them if I empower them to do something that I am not doing for myself. I have to walk in my own truth. My truth is: I am valuable in all aspects word, deed and belief. And because of this truth I have to learn to be more assertive.

So in this new season, I have found my voice.

Chatting it up,

Renee`

, , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by starsinhereye on October 18, 2013 - 6:50 pm

    Renee,
    We are often the ones thinking we don’t fit in and that people think less of us, often this has not crossed other’s minds. I have learned this at a conference for parents and people working with children with autism. They don’t care that I am young, they are scared to leave their child with some one else. This opened my eyes. Because sometimes,, it’s not what I think it is and am the one talking myself down.
    I urge you to find your voice for you. You deserve it. God will tell you that.
    Love you!
    ~Audrey

  2. #2 by Venus on October 23, 2013 - 6:25 am

    Hey Nee! Congrats on your new job! I’m so happy for you!! I’m glad that you found a job that involves your passion!! I like that you’re trying to walk in your truth! I hope one day I will have a job that I love & is passionate about. I’m proud of you for breaking barriers in your workplaces! I have to learn how to be more assertive myself! Love you! ~Venus

Leave a Reply

