Dire Straits Part 6~Audrey

Moonshadow

 

My UAB doctor called me in early thre weeks ago. I did not have lupus (YAY!!), but I needed to come in for more testing. He found two things: I had tested positive for a clotting agent and I was not producing enough of the IgG antibody as I should have. They did some more blood tests to see if the clotting factor was consistent. This would mean that I was at high risk for blood clots. They did another “test” to see if I could make antibodies. He gave me two vaccines, pneumonia and tetanus, and I go back in December to see if my body makes antibodies from the vaccines. The results will determine how we treat for the lack of antibodies..

Any sinus or congestion problem makes me really sick, but sinus infections, bronchitis and pneumonia are common for people with immune deficiency. That describes my life. Wednesday, I had to wait 8 hours for UAB to call me back and tell me it was ok to go see a doc that wasn’t him. I was afraid that the medicines might mess up my test result. The doctor at Urgent Care understood and was even piqued by my issues. I am now working on getting the congestion under control before I get really sick.

So last night, after a day of rest and prescription cough medicine, I became determined. I pulled out my yoga book and picked out exercises that would not strain my body too much. I read an article my friend had posted to give me hope. I started one of my spiritual books. And I felt good. I felt like I had hit rock bottom and the only thing to do was climb up.

I feel like I am following a moon shadow. It’s just out of reach and I can’t see it. December looms so far away but work keeps me so busy that it will be here in no time. I have a feeling I just can’t put a name on. An answer looms a head of me glassy, pixelated, and blurred. I’m not there yet. But I’m leaping and hoping.




 

 

 

 

  1. #1 by renee n. smith on October 18, 2013 - 11:24 pm

    Love you hun! So glad that you are taking everything in stride and that you are being positive about this entire thing.
    I pray you continue to get stronger and answers come soon 🙂

  2. #2 by danigeorge25 on October 21, 2013 - 8:55 pm

    Beautiful post and you’re right, there’s no where left to go but up!

  3. #3 by Venus on October 23, 2013 - 6:37 am

    Hey Audrey Bear! I hope that you find out good news in December! Thanks for the update on your health! I’ll continue to keep you in my prayers! Kudos to you on doing yoga! I’m glad you’re feeling better! Love you! ~Venus

Leave a Reply

