Deadly Distractions-Renee`

Matthew 4:4 Jesus answered, “It is written: ‘Man shall not live on bread alone, but on every word that comes from the mouth of God.'”

Photo: "Heal me, O LORD, and I will be healed; save me and I will be saved, for you are the one I praise." Jeremiah 17:14

About two years ago, I listened to one of my mentor’s first sermons entitled Deadly Distractions. At the time, I thought it was a catchy phrase and agreed that the enemy will send counterfeits into your life. I didn’t realize that this would be something every Christian battles..God’s Word vs Devil’s distractions. The counterfeit looks, sounds and feels just like what the Word of God told you but there is something slightly off. You can’t quite put your finger on why things are not adding up…it just doesn’t sit well in your spirit. 

I received a report from my doctor yesterday that had me shook. I had some abnormal test results and had to come in for further testing to ensure that I don’t have cancer. There’s a possibility that it is absolutely nothing and then there’s the possibility that it is something serious. At this point..I don’t know; I am waiting to hear back from the doctor to be sure. As I type this blog, I keep hearing in the back of my mind that there is a possibility that I have cancer. I was told prophetically early this year that I was to have a baby…and I have been so sick this entire year…and now this cancer possibility. I can look at everything and say: there’s no way that Word was meant for me. But right now I am standing on God’s Word that I am healed, happy and healthy. I say all of that to show you that when you receive a word..something will come along and make it seem like that Word is not truth. 

I was chastised this morning by my mentor, because I have been so distracted by my own issues. I have not been readily available to minister to others, because I am constantly calling, texting and talking about my own drama. That is exactly what the devil wants; if I am distracted I am unable to carry out the Word of God like I need to. I am not standing on faith, I am standing on doctor reports, job evaluations etc. All we have is God’s Word. His Word promises healing, peace, restoration, love, joy..He never said the road to those ideals would be easy..He just promised that we will get there. 

I could write this blog when I get the results back and everything comes out perfectly fine (that’s what I am claiming). But I felt it was better to write when this was fresh. This Radical7even journey is about documenting our growth as women..here’s one of my first true tests of Rad year 3. 

3 John 1:2 Dear friend, I pray that you may enjoy good health and that all may go well with you, even as your soul is getting along well.

Renee` 

  1. #1 by starsinhereye on October 24, 2013 - 6:58 pm

    It’s hard when your life is consumed by illness to be in touch and in tune with others. It is probably one of the most frustrating aspects of illness. Often someone had to remind us, that there are other out there with (worse) problems
    I am praying for you each step of the way. I love you so much. No matter what, we can all make it through this together.
    ~Audrey

  2. #2 by Venus on October 24, 2013 - 11:44 pm

    Hey Nee! Continue to do your claims! The devil knows if he distracts us, we are no longer focusing on God. I’ll keep you in my prayers & try to stay positive. Love you!

Leave a Reply

