Will the real planner please stand up…*Gem*

Three days ago I left my planner at a client’s home. AND I WENT NUTS….for about an hour. I was  almost home when I got the call from my client saying that I left my “book” on the table. Panic set in immediately. I began thinking “How am I going to remember everything that I wrote down? Should I buy a new planner? What if I forget to do something? I must admit I tend to feel quite accomplished after I simply write things down in my planner. Not do them…just write them down. It gives me this incredible sense of control and makes me feel like I’m a grown up that’s a mover and a shaker. I contemplated picking it up the next morning but I had too many work related commitment and very little free time that day and it seemed as though I could not fit it in my schedule without having to move around my appointments. I decided that I would try for a week (outside of my therapy appointments) to let the days flow organically and not overly scheduled. I have 3 more days to go before that week is over and I am doing OK. I found a verse to stand on and it has not let me down.

Jeremiah 29:11 For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.

Isn’t it amazing how difficult it can be to give up some of the control in your life and let things happen? I can say as a Christian this is something I struggle with at times- Giving God complete control and releasing my to do list. Not having my planner for a few days made me acutely aware of my need to sometimes predict the next hour of my life.

This verse directly ties into my prayer goal of submission- letting God’s will take over. If we allow things to unfold organically, right or wrong , good or bad, it is all part of God’s will. He will give you the grace to move through any situation whether you planned for it to happen or not. There were wonderful things that happened over the past few days, none of them planned. There were also not some not so great unplanned things but God helped me through that as well. Knowing that the master plan is “to give you hope and a future” is reassurance that in the end it will all come together. This is great news to me…especially since I don’t remember what I wrote in my planner for tomorrow 🙂

One day at a time,

Gem

  1. #1 by Venus on November 18, 2013 - 7:57 am

    Hey Gem! I hate to hear that you lost your planner temporarily. At least you knew where you left it at. I struggle w/ letting God take complete control too. I’m not a planner though. I’m more of a go w/ the flow type person so I don’t really have a to do list. I do post sticky notes on my calendar if I need to If something is important, I’ll put it on my calendar. Lol! I hope you don’t lose your planner again. Love ya! -Venus

  2. #2 by radical7even on November 18, 2013 - 11:10 am

    Gem,
    I cannot tell you how much I needed to read this post. I’ve been working hard on trying to let things flow..some days I do better than others. Love you and thanks for sharing!

  3. #3 by starsinhereye on November 19, 2013 - 7:02 pm

    I am so proud of you! You are so radical! This was an amazing step of trust! Love you girl!
    ~Audrey

  4. #4 by radical7even on November 19, 2013 - 9:50 pm

    Great blog post Gem; loved the lesson.
    Dani

Leave a Reply

