Am I Gomer? ~Venus

Hello everyone! I started a journal challenge this month w/ the ministry for Wives in Waiting. The first book in the Bible for the journal challenge that I read was Hosea. The book of Hosea is a parallel of Hosea’s marriage to his wife Gomer and God’s relationship w/ the children of Israel. Gomer was a prostitute and was unfaithful to her husband. Before Hosea got married to Gomer, God told him that his wife wasn’t going to be faithful to him. Hosea 1:2-3 states “When the Lord began to speak through Hosea, the Lord said to him, “Go, marry a promiscuous woman and have children with her, for like an adulterous wife this land is guilty of unfaithfulness to the Lord.” So he married Gomer daughter of Diblaim, and she conceived and bore him a son.” The children of Israel in a nutshell worshiped pagan gods and basically threw God to the wayside. They were full of sin. God was angry at his people. To find more about the book of Hosea, read it!

Now you may be asking how is the story of Hosea relatable? I’m not Gomer in the context of being a prostitute. Lol! However, I can relate to the unfaithfulness part. I thought about myself as I read Hosea. I thought about how I’ve been unfaithful to God. I haven’t been as obedient as I should had. I haven’t been making him a priority. I haven’t been spending time w/ God as much as I should. I really been slacking on my spiritual walk w/ God..I also haven’t been pure in my heart. This month I really worked on my relationship w/ God and tried by best to stay away from tempting situations. It seems like when I slack w/ relationship w/ God, the easier it is for me to get tempted. When I stay connected to God it’s easier for me to be strong and resist temptation.

If you find yourself right now being Gomer, try to get back connected w/ God. Spend time w/ him and make him a priority. Ask God to help you in the areas that you’re weak. I would like to mention that you may not be a prostitute like Gomer was but you can cheat on God (i.e. giving a guy/men more attention than him or putting other things before him). We are the brides of Christ. We are in a committed relationship with God. We should honor our relationship w/ him. I’m trying to get to the point where I don’t compromise who I am for anyone and not allow anyone or anything come between my relationship w/ God. God bless!

~Venus

P.S. Another radical moment I had this week was watching my roommate’s cat (Munchkin) for the first time by myself (as in take care of him) Tuesday night and Wednesday afternoon. I’ve watched Munchkin a couple of times while my roommate was at work but I never had to feed him. My mom & I attended Black Friday. We went to Belk’s and Kohls..It was fun! Both stores were super packed though! I went home Wednesday-Friday for Thanksgiving. I enjoyed spending time w/ my family. I was off work for a week. My last day of work was Thursday and I returned back to work today. The Auburn vs. Alabama game was in Auburn today. I’m so happy Auburn won!! WAR EAGLE!!

  1. #1 by starsinhereye on December 3, 2013 - 8:06 pm

    We are easily “prostitutes” as in this analogy. Humans go from one thing to another, anything that gives them payoff. eating too much, working too much, we prostitute ourselves out to Earthly things instead of God. You are so right about this happening when we don’t connect with God. I have found life easier when I keep at the front of my heart and it was meant that way. Stay strong!
    ~Audrey

  2. #2 by renee n. smith on December 6, 2013 - 2:39 am

    War eagle! Hey!
    I’ve always loved this story. How hosea kept chasing after gomer no matter the depth of her sin. I have been both hosea and gomer..unfortunately I didn’t love like this example. I’ve been working hard on trying to find that balance of love and healthy boundaries. That’s been my biggest lesson during this time. Good luck on chasing after the right things

  3. #3 by Venus on December 7, 2013 - 3:42 am

    To Nee: Wow to being both of them! It takes great insight to realize that. I think God as being our Hosea. He still wants us despite our faults! I really like Hosea 2:14-23. I hope you find your balance! God will work it out! =) Thank you for the luck! I need it! Lol! Love you! To Audrey Bear: You’re on point w/ you said! I guess we look for love in the wrong places. Thank you for telling me to stay strong! Continue to lift me up in prayer! Love you! ~Venus

Leave a Reply

