All I Want for Christmas is A Diagnosis~Audrey

 

Sukha means content or happy. Spending a few minutes letting yourself soften into this pose is a centering way to start your practice.

 

Is it any wonder that my most comfortable and relaxing yoga position in the Sukhasana Forward Fold? I’ve been doing

Sukhasana Forward Fold

Sukhasana Forward Fold

it for years not knowing it was a beneficial yoga pose. It has always helped me stretch, think clearly, calm my tummy, or just rest. Jason will tell you he will often find me in a modified version of this pose as I watch TV.

 

The above quote is from the yoga book I am working with. I do a very easy version for flexibility and to help with my weight gain. I have the problem of steroid weight gain. The medicine makes me hungry and distributes my fat into my stomach and face. These outward appearance changes make it even harder to deal what is going through. The yoga allows me to feel like I am at least doing something.

 

My trip to UAB moves me a step closer to a diagnosis. My reaction to the vaccines were “OK” according the note my doctor sent but he was still referring me to another doctor in his group that worked with low IgG numbers and other disorders.  This was pretty par for the course.

 

What wasn’t: a new medication. In order to counter action the clotting agent I have, the doctor has put me on an anti-malaria medicine to help with the clotting possibility. It also has added benefits in managing auto-immune side effects. It should help with the pain in my muscles and joints. The paperwork says it can take 3 to 6 MONTHS to truly get the effects of this medicine. There is also another issue that really got me down. There is a small (less than n 1 in 100) chance I will develop a side effect in my retina from this medication and I must get an eye exam every year.  Great, another doctor to go see!

 

There is some good news. My protein level in my urine is down with in normal range! The double dose of medication is working and I don’t seem to be suffering too much from low blood pressure. The anti-malaria is also better for my kidney because regular arthritis medicine cannot be filtered correctly. Hoorah!

 

So this leaves me in limbo for Christmas, but overall it doesn’t bring me down. I love Christmas. I love the love, the generosity, the idea that we can emulate our Lord and Savior! It is no stronger than at this time of year. So I’ll drink some Egg Nog, read my Bible and thank God for all the contentment he has given me. I may have an illness, but my Lord is bigger than that!

 

Namaste!

 

 

 

  1. #1 by renee n. smith on December 20, 2013 - 9:31 pm

    Hey audrey!
    I’ve never seen thise pose (I don’t do yoga) but I might try it myself. Since being so sick last month I’ve not wanted to do anything but rest..but you’ve motivated me!
    Good luck with everything hun

  2. #2 by Venus on December 26, 2013 - 7:27 pm

    Hey Audrey Bear! I’m happy that you had good news & that your body responded the vaccines well! I’m glad yoga is helping you! I’ll continue to keep you in my prayers! Love you! ~Venus

Leave a Reply

