Speak Only What You Seek-Renee’

image

I cannot believe how quickly 2013 went! I also can’t believe how quickly my 20s are passing. I stated in my last entry that I scraped my old Rad7even goals and decided to focus more on relationships and what I could do to improve my relationships.
One of the first things I had to do was let go of a toxic relationship. There are times when a relationship becomes taxing or the individual shows you they are no longer interested in maintaining that relationship. I decided to let that person go. It was difficult,because this person is family, but I believe for my emotional health I had to stop chasing this person.

I am now refocusing on showing those in my life that love me, how much they mean to me. I’m committed to reaching out more this year.

I have also been challenged by my fellow HIS Gem to speak more positively and stop talking about absolutely everything that bothers me. There are times when venting is ok, but for me this has become a lifestyle. I complain sooo much at times. I’m reminded of the Children of Israel and how often they would complain about absolutely everything. And how this angered God:
Numbers 11
Now the people complained about their troubles in the hearing of the Lord. When the Lord heard it, His anger burned. The fire of the Lord burned among them, and destroyed some around the outer parts of the tents. 2 Then the people cried to Moses and he prayed to the Lord, and the fire went out. 3 So the name of that place was called Taberah, because the fire of the Lord burned among them.

I remember a time when I was worried I would never get married or find a job or a new car. I remember spending hours writing in my prayer journal and finding Scriptures to support those promises of God’s Word. Now..fast forward..how often have I complained about those very things I sought God for, more than I’d like to admit. So my task now is one very elementary: if I don’t have anything nice to say then I don’t need to say anything at all. Or as I’ve seen Marshawn Evans write: speak only what you seek.

Here’s to a more positive New Year!
Renee’

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

