Change comes within-Renee

image

I grew up going to an uber conservative church very similar to the one Danielle described in her last entry. This shaped my world view and made me look at life in a very narrow way. Either you see things my way or youre wrong especially when it came to religious veiws,beliefs and actions. 

Even when my own actions didn’t mirror my own belief i had a hard time learning to use this as a chance for humbling and instead condemned myself for missing the mark.

Last year i got into a debate about substance abuse. I was pretty staunch on my how in the world could anyone do blah blah blah. The other person had a legit stance on  how we never know what would cause someone to take such drastic actions. I did not understand this point of view at all. I mean how in the world could anyone do X,Y,Z?

A few months ago I took a position working with a prevention organization that focuses on teens.

As someone who has always had a sober lifestyle I realized that this would challenge the way I have always thought (or actually more importantly not considered) issues surrounding addiction. It would challenge the very debate i had months before while allowing me to actively make a change.

How does this tie into my Radical 7even journey? Remember I’m purusing working on my relationships.

I watched Super Soul Sunday (an Oprah production). I usually don’t watch her any more because her views are drastically different from mine ( but im trying to be more open). Oprah interviewed a woman named Karen who is a well respected religious expert. Karen started off her journey studying to be a nun. She spent a year or so in a convent and she spoke on how difficult this was for her. She then turned her pursuit to knowledge of religion and cultural context. She contends that the most important thing that binds all religions is the focus on helping others. Almost every single religion emphasizes self denial and respecting our neighbors.

Many times we view our beliefs in a vacuum, making excuses for our short comings yet judging others harshly for falling in an area we do not struggle.

Do we actively try to understand and respect our neighbors?

Challenge your thoughts

Renee’

  1. #1 by starsinhereye on January 16, 2014 - 9:26 pm

    It amazing when you read the story of Jesus when you really think about those he bestowed his love on. It was everyone who was willing to come to him. He treated people with a variety of sins and issues with love and respect. I think as human, this is one of the hardest thongs to do. It seems God brought you this place of work to work on that specific goal.
    Love you!
    ~Audrey

  2. #2 by radical7even on January 17, 2014 - 2:10 pm

    you got me thinking this morning Renee! I agree wholeheartedly with your post.I think if we as people would look more at what makes us alikethan different, it would make for more positive connections.

  3. #3 by Venus on January 20, 2014 - 5:40 am

    Hey Nee! Great post! I’m happy you’re understanding those that deal w/ substance abuse! I don’t think that there is anything wrong w/ opening your mind. 😉 I think it’s important to try to understand people. I usually try to view situations from more than 1 point of view.

Leave a Reply

