Relating to The Gabby Douglas Story Movie ~Venus

Hello everyone! A few weeks ago Lifetime aired a movie called The Gabby Douglas Story. It was an awesome movie about Gabrielle Douglas’ life. For some of you that may or may not know, Gabby Douglas was the 1st African American gymnast (she was 16 yrs old at the time) to win two gold medals at the 2012 London Summer Olympics. I could relate to several things in the movie. Gabby’s mom was very supportive of her. She went to everything that Gabby participated in and was supportive of her son and two other daughters. Her mom and siblings sacrificed to support Gabby’s dream to be an Olympian.

My mom was very supportive of me (she still is). She went to just about everything I participated from kindergarten to college. There was only one time that I remember my mom missing out on something I did. She wasn’t able to make it to one of my orchestras concert in 8th grade because she moved to Alabama before I did. My mom made time to come to my events. She was a working woman so I know it was probably was a little difficult for her to adjust her schedule at times. My mom and my aunt sacrificed for me to attend college. My mom and Auntie Pearl paid some of the semesters (tuition) and gave me the money for books during college. When I fell on hard times, my mom and my Auntie Pearl helped me out financially. There was a point that Gabby wanted to give up her dream of being an Olympian. She wasn’t feeling it anymore but she was able to find her passion and accomplish her dream.

There have been times in college that I wanted to give up (primarily my Sophomore and Senior year). College was very difficult for me. God gave me the strength to endure and finish. My Sophomore year of college I wasn’t happy towards the end of it. I was in a major (Information Systems) that I didn’t like. My grades started going down because I had a lot on my plate..I was a Resident Assistant and was active in student organizations. I just lost my motivation. I took a career assessment online and found out what I was good at. I found Social Work and changed my major to Sociology w/ a minor in Social Work. I was happy from that point on. I was happy to go to my classes and my grades started to improve. I also learned that I liked doing community service. I was the secretary for American Humanics (now the Non-Profit Alliance) and we did community service projects. I had tons of fun doing that! My junior year I had to transfer to another college because the college I went to (AUM) didn’t have the teachers for me to complete my Social Work degree. I had to choose between Auburn University (AU) and Alabama State University (ASU). I chose AU.

My senior year was rough. When I transferred to AU, things were rough. My aunt passed away my last week of finals at AUM. So I was still grieving over her death. I was working a seasonal job but it wasn’t enough to pay the bills. I had to depend on my family to help me. I did apply to other jobs but I had no luck. I had interviews but it didn’t go to the next step (a full-time job). I ended up failing my internship for Social Work (which I didn’t expect) and I had to change my major again. I had to apply to a new major, get my financial aid back, and go to school another semester the last week of school. On top of that, I was having drama w/ my roommates. I was miserable and depressed. I wasn’t able to fully function in the relationship I was in at the time. It was very hard for me to make it during my last semester of school. I ended up failing my Victimology class. I worked super hard in that class and did all my assignments. I even went to my professor for help! Her tests were so hard! I remember only passing on her tests. The funny part is I took another class w/ her (Sociology of the Family) and passed it.

Anywho I felt myself going to OH NO this can’t happen again mode. I couldn’t afford not to graduate on time again! My academic advisor was able to substitute my Victimology class w/ another class I took at my previous college. I was so happy! My academic advisor was so helpful when I was going through my rough patch my Senior year. My friends, family, and the boyfriend I had at the time were helpful too. I ended up graduating May 2010. I wasn’t the happiest person on my graduation day. To be honest, I was relieved and still depressed at the same time. One of my friends was going through a rough patch in her life too. Not too long after she graduated from college, her parents divorced and she found out she was having a baby. I helped plan her baby shower during my last semester. She was a single mom for a while. My friend now is married. She is a great mother to her sons (her biological son & her husband’s son). God has really turned her life around! 😉

I liked in the movie how Gabby automatically knew that she had to be coached by Liang Chow to train for the Olympics. The lesson I learned from that is that you have to be connected to the right people to reach your destiny. Today is the last day of Black History Month. So I thought this post would be a great way to close out the month. God bless!

~Venus

This video is awesome! I have to really get over my fears/doubts so I can be the person God created me to be. 😉 I remember in the movie Gabby told her mom she didn’t want to be exceptional (it was during a time she was having a rough patch). She told her mom she didn’t want to be a gymnast anymore. Her mom told her that they (the family) sacrificed for her she was going to throw it all away. <<-That's my paraphrase lol


I thought this would be a great video to share since Valentine's Day was this month. 😉

To learn more about Gabrielle Douglas visit: http://gabrielledouglas.com/biography

  1. #1 by starsinhereye on March 11, 2014 - 11:09 pm

    Support is a huge issue so glad that you had it and pushed forward!
    ~Audrey

Leave a Reply

