Prisoner of the Past-Renee

image

2 Corinthians 5:17

New International Version (NIV)

17 Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, the new creation has come. The old has gone, the new is here!

Sometimes our identity comes from everything that is outside of us, our education, job title, beauty etc. We begin to misplace our focus onto things we “control”. We believe that our good works, our ability is what got us to this point…when really it’s nothing, but grace.

I’m currently facing a radical situation that has challenged me as a woman, this very instance I know for sure will alter who I will become IF I allow God to really get a hold of me and this situation. I’ve never been so out of sorts before and honestly God is the only One who can make this right.
This situation although challenging has opened me up to being more graceful to those around me. I’ve been purposefully more patient and kind and maybe this is exactly what my Father needs.
Maybe I was so caught up and focused on a goal that I missed my purpose. We can be so focused on the good thing that we miss what God is actually doing. If you’re so focused anything that does not align with that specific goal may seem like a distraction and you miss the opportunity to show someone the God in you. Yes, it’s a pain to wait an extra 10 to 20 minutes in line, but should you get up to the cashier with a nasty attitude? Will that change the wait time, or will that just affect the cashier’s day? Not saying we should never seek managerial assistance if someone is not properly helping you, but being rude should not be on that list.
I actually called and gave an employee a compliment on the national line. She had been pleasant and helpful and I immediately encouraged her and thanked her personally, but felt lead to do more.
When I called,the operator was so shocked that I had to be put on hold 2 times just so she could ask her supervisor the proper way to handle me placing a COMPLIMENT. We live in a society where the horrible deeds and the evil acts and thoughts are highlighted. People arguing fighting and being malicious is entertainment. How sad is it that being nice ..is actually shocking? God said we are to be a light in dark places….don’t let anyone or anything dim your light.
When I was growing up I admit that I imitated some of those women who were aggressive and brash, because they “got things done”. When I got saved at 17 I realized something had to change  my actions represented something more..someone bigger than me. I wasn’t perfect and struggled with ( and sometimes still struggle with) the aggressive vs. Assertive lifestyle. But I want to be light. I want to glorify God at all times…even when I’m not in the best position. Honestly, that’s when it counts the most, when it is the absolute hardest thing to do. I no longer am a prisoner to my past thoughts or mistakes. I am new IN Christ. If I abide in Him…the work will get done even in negative environments. Like a rose growing in concrete, I can allow Him to bring beauty in the oddest of places.

Planting peace in my soul garden,

Renee

  1. #1 by Venus on April 4, 2014 - 1:26 am

    Great post! Our attitude is everything! I know you made someone’s day by giving them a compliment! 😉 I’m glad you’re no longer is a prisoner to your past! I did a good deed today. I used my Winn-Dixie card for a customer that was standing in front of me. He was having issues w/ remembering the # for his Winn-Dixie card.

  2. #2 by starsinhereye on April 9, 2014 - 8:55 pm

    Our biggest challenges are those God sets infront of us to teach us things. I have the same thing with dealing witrh a really negative person that I can’t escape. But I have seen God work in me and that’s so much better than I ever expected. Hold in there girl, he is sharpening you!
    Love you!
    Audrey

Leave a Reply

