My March ~Venus

Hello everyone! So there has been a bit going on this month. I’ve been stressing out  about the whole health insurance situation. Enrollment ended today. I have health insurance through my job but it’s not considered as health insurance under the new law because it’s a “fixed” plan. I decided not to go w/ Alabama Cross Blueshield because I can’t afford it every month. I didn’t want to put myself in a bind trying to pay what I see as an extra bill right now. So I’ll just have to pay the penalty.

I was on Spring Break earlier this month due to the students being out of school for it. Since I work on a college campus, I get a Spring Break too. It felt weird sitting at the house not doing much. I’m use to being busy all the time. I admit it felt good to be able to sleep late during the week again. It’s been a while since I’ve been able to do that w/ the exception of my off days.The downfall of being out on Spring Break was  that my last paycheck wasn’t that much. Being out of work for a week kind of hurt be financially but I have enough money for rent! WOO HOO! It’s due tomorrow. BOO HOO! lol!

On last Thursday, I babysat my Goddaughter Ja’Kiyah. She is 3 months old. It was the 1st time that I watched her by myself.  Watching her wasn’t bad. I forgot what it felt like to babysit a baby.  When was in high school, I baby sat my cousins. Ja’Kiyah was a little fussy but I was able to get her to calm down. I fed her twice & changed her diaper. A ministry class that I’ve joined, started two weeks ago. So far it’s going well. I received my money from my income tax this month & decided to put it in my savings account until I figure out what I wanted to do with it. I want to spend my money wisely. I bought a few items w/ my gift card & that was nice. =) I also volunteered this month & it went well! I  hung out w/ a friend a few times this month. It felt great to do something fun! God bless!

~Venus

P.S. I did somethings radical during last weekend. I cooked ribs for the first time! The sides that I had w/ the ribs were mac and cheese and baked beans. I was kind of nervous to cook the ribs because I wasn’t sure how they were going to turn out. I need to learn how to trim the fat off of ribs and remove the membrane better. Once I learn how to do that, I’ll be good to go!

I found out last week that one my high school classmate (Joel Finney) passed away. Him and his father was in a car accident. His father also passed away. My heart drop when I heard the news. One of my other high school classmates sister was involved in the accident. She had to be taken to the hospital.

  1. #1 by starsinhereye on April 9, 2014 - 9:01 pm

    I am so proud of you for trying to cook the ribs! Doing it even though you were afraid is huge!
    I’m sorry about your friend but so excited that you got to babysit your goddaughter.
    ~audrey

    • #2 by Venus on April 27, 2014 - 11:17 pm

      Thank you Audrey Bear! I think I’ll try cooking ribs again! 😉 Thanks for the condolences! I wasn’t able to attend my high school classmate’s funeral but I need send an donation towards his flowers.

Leave a Reply

