Two Years of Singleness ~Venus

Hey everyone! Today, it is two years that I’ve been single. I can definitely say that being single isn’t easy (the struggle is real lol). I have definitely came across some foolishness regarding guys! Lol! Two years ago, I had to walk away from a relationship for my own sanity. I wasn’t getting what I needed from the person I was with so I broke up with him. That was a really hard decision for me to make. I felt alone a lot of times in my last relationship. I felt as if I was putting in more effort in the relationship than he was. I just got tired of trying to work it out and arguing. The relationship was also long distance so that was difficult too.

I thought by now that I would be in a relationship with someone. I know now isn’t the proper for a relationship for me though. Gasp! lol! I have things within myself I need to work on. I have to get to a place where I can be emotionally available to be in a relationship again. So right now I’m doing friendship because that all I can offer and do at this moment. I’m going to be honest, I struggle w/ giving new people a chance. I always wonder what the intentions of people are. I know that’s not good to do but I’m very selective w/ who I let in my life. I know that I have to give someone a chance but I haven’t met too many guys that I feel deserve the opportunity to really date me. I want to date w/ the intent to marry. I’m 26 yrs old. I don’t have the time to be w/ someone temporarily. I want my next relationship to lead towards marriage. I don’t want my time to be wasted on anyone.

Here is a list of what I wanted my potential guy to be like: 1.) He need to be a Christian, 2.) he has to be consistent, 3.) he must make me a priority, 4.) he can’t be controlling or manipulative, 5.) he can’t be abusive, 6.) respect my celibacy, 7.) be a good communicator, 8.) he has to be responsible/mature, 9.) has goals, 10.) have an active prayer life, 11.) knows how to lead, 12.) be respectful, 13.) knows how to manage money, 14.) family oriented, 15.) he is a man of his word, and 16.) he must be willing to wait until marriage to have sex. I know it sounds like a lot but I think it is pretty reasonable! Please pray that God will continue to keep me while I wait on the person he has for me. God bless!

-Venus

  1. #1 by starsinhereye on April 29, 2014 - 4:27 pm

    I applaud you for taking time for you. You need to love yourself before you can love some one else!

    Love you!

    ~Audrey

    • #2 by Venus on April 30, 2014 - 12:52 am

      Thank you Audrey! I’m learning to love myself. 😉

  2. #3 by radical7even on April 29, 2014 - 7:13 pm

    Dating can be tough, but I think sometimes the hunger for marriage can taint the view of dating. I wish I wouldn’t have put so much emphasis on being single or who I dated or whatnot. In the grand scheme of things it matters more about your own happiness being determined by you and I am so glad you are taking that time out to find yourself.
    Being a wife, is another full time job, being a mother is another full time job. Those are not things you can really “break” from. I resented people telling me that I should enjoy your singleness, but just like college (the stress, the tests etc) you tend to sometimes miss what you had. Marriage is a wonderful thing, but it also requires so much of yourself.
    Good luck!

    Renee

    • #4 by Venus on April 30, 2014 - 4:36 am

      Thanks Nee! I don’t want to get married right away. Lol! I desire a
      relationship somewhere down the line. Marriage & kids can wait. Lol! Thanks for sharing your experience!

Leave a Reply

