Music’s On, I’m Waking Up~Audrey

It’s dark. People are cheering. Suddenly, lights flash, a smoke machine starts, and the band begins playing. After agonizing moments, the lights come on and there she stands: Ellie Goulding.
I absolutely love Ellie Goulding. Her songs have deep meanings capturing my emotions, everything from happiness to determination to heart break. Her first American single “Lights” called to me. I had battle depression in high school and this song truly captured my recovery. I bought her first album and was instantly hooked. I was blown away. She balanced pop music with deep meaning and there is not a song I don’t like.

Ellie Goulding before the show in Atlanta

Ellie Goulding before the show in Atlanta

Several months ago I asked one of my BFFS if she would drive me to Atlanta if I bought her ticket. Of course she agreed, and was excited about the show. I planned ahead paying an extra fee to park near the theatre since I had trouble walking. It was the best thing I ever did. I plotted our course and doubled check out time frame (including extra travel time). I was ready.
As always God had other plans. It seems he needed to teach me patience. Poor Sarah learned I was not very good when things get in the way of the events that mean the most to me. We were stuck in the Auburn construction for an hour and a half! There went all my buffer time. I cursed, chewed my nails, and bemoaned my fate. I did not act very sus like at all and was quite embarrassed, apologizing profusely to Sarah for my behavior. She and God both forgave me: we got there just in time. We got to our seats and the opening act started. We took that time to hit the bathrooms, drink stand and merch table. While waiting for the show to start I was a lot more patient. I had learned my lesson.
It was worth every moment in traffic, every creak in my joints, and every minute spent frustrated. Ellie rocked. She actually sounded live like she did on the CDs. Though her regular talking voice was lighter and harder to hear you could still hear her excitement and enthusiasm. While she is mainly sang and danced, that didn’t keep her from sprinting across the stage or playing the drums. She was as much into her own music as I was. I felt we were both having the time of our lives.
As predicted “My Blood” moved me to tears. It has become the embodiment of my health struggle. Music touches me so much and live music just amplifies it. I also must admit that I leaked a few tears when the show started; I was just moved that much by the singer. Every other song sent chills and excitement through my body. And I came alive more than it had in year.
As I go through my current struggles, I try to remember that moment. I try to think of the pure joy I felt and they pump up her music on the radio. It’s how I cope with a lot of things: remembering this singular experience and that, no matter how bad things can get, there are these moments of bliss.

We’ve got a lot that hasn’t even began

  1. #1 by Gem on May 9, 2014 - 7:08 pm

    I am so happy that you were able to see her live. Isn’t music therapy the best?

  2. #2 by Venus on June 7, 2014 - 9:11 pm

    I’m glad that you were able to go to a Ellie Goulding’s concert!

Leave a Reply

