10 Lessons From Mother-DaniGee

Heyyy!

I feel so blessed to be a daughter of Hattie. She is genuine and has a heart of gold. I am continually learning things from her, either my her words or actions. Here are 10 things that I have learned from my mom.

image

**no order of preferance

1. Be careful of what you say.  “Keep on Living. ” My mom is a big believer of the power in words. She has told me instances of saying things about people or situations and now she can see herself going through similar situations as she has had to contend with. She said that her mother amd elders she grew around would always say, Just keep on living.

2. Never step in the same hole twice. Well,my mom has another saying but for the sake of the Rad7 blog I won’t use her terminology.  Basically, if there is a reason you left in the first place or if someone has shown their true colors, believe them. It can cut down on unnecessary drama and heartache.

3. No matter what your child does or doesn’t do, they are still your child. I see things from a sibling aspect and there are certain things where I feel my mom should be firmer, when it comes to my siblings. However,  I understand her viewpoint will always be different than mine because she is the mom and she doesn’t want to see her children in certain positions.

4. Education is important. My mom has always said that one thing she wanted all of her children to do graduate from high school, one goal she wasn’t able to complete. She was our biggest champion and I felt very fortunate to have had her in my corner. I remember my first week of college,  I cried horribly and told her I was ready to come back home but she gave Me a pep talk. She knew that was my first time really being away from home but she thought I could handle it. I was still unsure but I stayed and really enjoyed my college experience.

5. Don’t Let nervousness stop you. My mom doesn’t drive. She use to drive. I asked my mom why she stopped driving and she said that she was just too nervous to drive. I knew for me to succeed at driving that I needed to get over the fear to be a driver.

6. Don’t let the fact that you don’t drive stop you from owning a car. As mentioned before,  my mom doesn’t drive but she does own a car. She gets done what she needs. She is resourceful.

7. You can always save. This is one thing that my mom has always done and a trait I wish would come more natural to me. She always makes sure money stretches from one month to another.

8. Always make up your bed. Again, another trait that I wish would come natural to me. I am lucky to find my pillow. My mom, every day, one of her rituals to make her bed. It’s always so neat amd wrinkle free.

9. Take care of your own. My mom is a big advocate of being responsible.  She will help you but you are ultimately responsible for your actions.

10. Always have different avenues of income. My mom has always,since I’ve been of age, has has yard sales, collected and recycled cans, picked pecans and sold them (sometimes by the hundreds of pounds). Again,  my mom has always been resourceful.

To my mom, all moms and motherly figures HAPPY MOTHER’S DAY!!

Still Pushing,

DaniGee

, , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by starsinhereye on May 12, 2014 - 8:41 pm

    Sounds like some great lessons for life! I am inspired!
    ~Audrey

  2. #2 by danigeorge25 on May 13, 2014 - 8:38 pm

    Reblogged this on thelifeandtimesofdanigee and commented:
    My post honoring my mother on Mother’s Day.

  3. #3 by Venus on June 7, 2014 - 9:16 pm

    Those are great lessons! It’s amazing how much our parents teach us.

Leave a Reply

