Rainbow in the Clouds- DaniGee

mayaThis past Saturday, I decided to catch up on my mound of laundry and various things on my ever growing  to do list. I got a chance to watch OWN’s Master Class with Maya Angelou. It was so inspirational. She was more than the poet that I knew and admired, she was also a director, translator, mother, daughter, and teacher. She believed that everyone was a teacher, and has the ability to teacher another person.

One lesson she discussed was having rainbow in her cloud. This basically meant that no matter what is going in your life; God will always allow us a rainbow. I thought this was so profound because I do this with my best friend on a regular basis and she does the same for me, especially when we are being down about a particular situation. For example, whenever I feel low about my life, Renee will always remind me of the times that God has provided for me. During the storms of our life, we have to remember our rainbow in the clouds.

Oprah discussed being at one of Dr. Angelou’s many parties and if Dr. Angelou heard a person speak negatively about another person or population, she would politely ask them to leave. Dr. Angelou shared that we must be careful of how we use words. Dr. Angelou viewed words as things. In the beginning was the Word, and the Word was with God, and the Word was God. (John 1:1) She said that we have to be careful of using negative words in your house and to not allow people to use them in your house. She felt that negative words got into  the walls, wallpaper, furniture, and finally into you. There is power in the words we use, be positive in all things.

She spoke about her work with Dr. King and Malcolm X.  She said, “If a human being dares to be bigger than the situations they were born in, so can you.” For me,  I see public figures like Malcolm X, Dr. King, Sister Theresa, President Obama, Mandela, Dr. Angelou and I  read their autobiographies and it seems bigger than life. But they were human beings, just like me, just like you. They dared to dream, dared to try, to put one foot in front of the other and give it a go. They went further than the generation before them. This is a lesson that I have to keep close to my heart, any time when things doesn’t go as  I think they should go or when fear tries to over take my dreams.

I encourage you if you get a chance to check out OWN’s Master Class.

 

Still Pushing with a Renewed Spirit,

 

DaniGee

, , , ,

  1. #1 by starsinhereye on June 11, 2014 - 2:52 pm

    Thank you for this inspirational post. When positive thoughts get hard, this is a great inspiration to get back to them.
    Love you.
    ~Audrey

Leave a Reply

