A Vent about Relationships ~Venus

Hello everyone! So I have to vent. I watched a video today on YouTube that summed up how I feel about relationships at the moment. I’m at the point right now that I’m for the most part am closed off when it comes to it. I’m tired of the foolishness that guys are bringing & I can’t deal w/ it. I have a very low tolerance for foolishness. I guess one of the reasons why I’m like that is because I tolerated so much foolishness in my past relationships. I recently deleted my profile (June 1st) on a dating website that I was on called Plenty of Fish. I’ve been on there for almost a year & finally deleted my profile. I got tired of the guys always asking me about posting more pictures on my profile, wanting to exchange numbers w/ me in less than 20 minutes of talking to me, & asking me when we were going to meet up.

I originally joined the website because my female friend didn’t want to be on there by herself. I’m surprised that I stayed on the website almost a year. I know what kind of relationship I want in the future (a friendship that turns into a relationship that leads to marriage) that wants the same thing I want. I find it crazy that some guys want certain benefits but don’t want to put any effort or little effort into receiving those benefits. When I say benefits I’m not talking about sex necessarily. Let me give an example. Let’s say Bob is interested in Julie. Bob hardly calls & texts Julie but expect Julie to go on a date w/ him one day he asks her out. Julie declines the date because Bob isn’t consistent w/ contacting her.

When I was on Plenty of Fish, guys would ask me for my number all the time. I would always tell them that I don’t give my number out quickly. I try to get to know people & talk to people on there for a while before I decide to give it out.  A few guys on there have told me that I’m difficult! Lol! I don’t think I’m difficult. I just have expectations & standards. When a guy approach me, I expect him to come correct. I expect him to have a nice conversation with me.  If me & him exchange numbers, I expect to hear from him on a regular basis & for him to be consistent. If me & him get to the level of dating, I expect him to set up the first few dates. If something comes up the day of a date, I expect him to contact me, tell me the reason why he is canceling  the date, & reschedule the date for another day.

I feel like nowadays some dudes aren’t interested in starting off things slow & developing a friendship. They rather text than call. They don’t court women. They aren’t interesting in taking time to get to know you. They want to move fast, play games, or be friends w/ benefits. I’m not w/ that. Lol! I’m a very slow pace person. I just want don’t want my time to be wasted in another relationship.  I know what I want in the long run. I pray who God has for me is a Godly man & will give me what I need in a relationship. I’m not in a rush to be in relationship right now. I’m just doing friendship w/ guys. I’m very upfront w/ my intentions when I talk to guys. I wish more guys would be upfront & honest about their intentions. I think I vented enough now. Lol! God bless!

~Venus

 

  1. #1 by renee n Smith on June 20, 2014 - 2:20 am

    I’m proud of you for focusing on what are non-negotiable. Dating can also be a lot of fun if we take the pressure off too and maybe leaving the site will help with that. Love you!

    • #2 by Venus on July 10, 2014 - 5:39 pm

      Thank you Renee! I apologize for the late reply, I’m glad I got off of that website. Love you too!

  2. #3 by starsinhereye on June 20, 2014 - 1:30 pm

    Venus, I still encourage you, especially know, to step back and just take time for yourself. I am proud of you for deleting your profile. Praying that you find peace. Love you!
    ~Audrey

    • #4 by Venus on July 10, 2014 - 5:38 pm

      Thank you Audrey! I thought I replied back way before now. Smh! I definitely plan on taking the time out for my myself. Love you!

Leave a Reply

