But With You I’d Dance in a Storm in My Best Dress—Fearless~Audrey

fear·less

[feer-lis]

adjective

without fear; bold or brave; intrepid

 

 

We were not ever promised an easy life. In fact, Jesus knew we would have difficulties and gives us comfort in those time.  In John 16:33  he proclaims   “In this world you will have trouble.  But take heart!  I have overcome the world.”  With Jesus at our side, we should be brave and courageous—Fearless.

Often we come across situations that test our bravery and our faith. There are times when I take my eyes off God, and I let my own desires control my life. I was afraid of what was happening to me and felt powerless. But then I let him remove the fear that is stealing the joy from my life.

In the last few months, I made a big decision about my life. I was sick, tired and hurting. I felt bad about myself and unattractive. I was stuck on my own agenda even though I had told God I would leave it up to him.

In the last few weeks I have really come to regret that decision. I prayed and fasted from those things that were impeding my spiritual sight.  I really considered what I was doing. I don’t regret things often; I don’t like to live a life where I might have regretted something. I think that regret was not just me being lonely or adverse to change, it was telling me that I made a bad decision; I hadn’t followed God.

This is where fearless comes in. There was a chance I had not irrevocably changed my life. But I had to be courageous and admit my mistakes and truly show humility. This was really frightening. I did not want to be that vulnerable or be rejected. But deep in my heart I knew I needed to do this. I needed to trust in God and go for it.

So I showed fearlessness in adversity. Someone one said that being fearless isn’t not having fears, but being afraid and doing it anyway. Well I did it and I am very glad and relieved. There was no magic fairy tale ending but there was a very realistic and open continuation of that part of my life.

One of Jesus’s biggest gifts is fearlessness. Bad things will happen, but he will comfort us and keep us strong. Be prepared to dance in the rain when he calls you.

  1. #1 by Venus on July 10, 2014 - 5:36 pm

    Kudos to you on being fearless! I’m proud for you! You’re so radical! Love you! -Venus

Leave a Reply

