A Week in Radical~Audrey

Last week was pretty radical for me.

I had to attend a two-day training in Columbiana. I would had to drive an hour both ways and stay by myself for one night. I haven’t driven that long since I got sick nor have I spent the night alone. I am always worried about what may happen with my health.  I managed to drive without too many issues though sitting in those conference chairs all day was the most painful. Luckily, I was in pretty good health and just had an easy evening of quiet.

One of the biggest radical things was that I was determined to be social. I chatted with several people over meals that I had never met. Anyone who knows me knows that I have a hard time with social situation especially if it is small talk or I am not comfortable with that person. So in two days I hot three big milestones.

Think that was the end of my radical week? Not even close.

I had to head out again on Thursday. My throat had a little tickle, but I was off to Tennessee for the PATH Intl. Region 5 10610543_680914022000160_3690968303600168659_nconference.  My friend Sarah and I are State Co-Chairs for Alabama and had to make an appearance for Region Leadership activities as well as to get continuing education.  I drove small portions of the four and a half hour trip but let Sarah take the majority of the drive. I wanted to push myself a little. By that evening, though, my throat was on fire and I had a headache. I feared I had caught something at the first conference. We got settled into our hotel and got ready for our busy weekend. We were off for one seminar to another or  to a meet and greet or Region planning meeting. We were going wide open with little sleep. On Saturday , I gave my first ever conference presentation. I was part of a panel on Facility Building. The woman in charge had accidently messed up the Power Point but I was able to retrieve MANE’s photos and present a lovely recap of the philosophy of how we built the barn and what worked and didn’t. I enjoyed it and even decided that I would create an abstract and try to give a presentation at next year’s conference on building and revamping a Sensory Integration Trail.  And next year it is in Alabama so Sarah I will be busy planning for it.

Yesterday I hit the doctor’s office and by the grace of God I didn’t have strep. So now I just rest and take some medicines-now that I have a moment to catch my breath that is.

Let’s get recharged and going again! I’m ready for what’s ahead of me!

  1. #1 by Renee N. Smith on August 16, 2014 - 1:12 pm

    What a radical week! I’m so proud of you for balancing pushing yourself and resting I know that can be tough. I had no idea how many hats you wear, you’re an amazing woman!

  2. #2 by Venus on September 1, 2014 - 5:29 am

    Kudos to you Audrey on being radical & making milestones!! I’m proud of you!! Love you! ~Venus

Leave a Reply

