Dragon Con Dreams~Audrey

Last weekend was amazingly radical! It was Labor Day weekend so that meant Dragon Con!

Last year, I detailed my inaugural trip and how I struggled with my illness. This year was better for two reasons. 1) There was no learning curve. I knew how to drive a scooter and how the convention was set up. 2) My medications have really helped me to feel better.

FSCN2202

With Emma Caulfield (Anya in Buffy the Vampire Slayer). She and the rest of the celebrities were so nice to me and they all wanted to play with Grumpy Cat!

Each day, I walked the block to the Sheridan to get the scooter and then walked back to the car each night. It was more than I could do last year, and I felt proud. Especially walking back at the end of an exciting and exhausting day. Just because I rode a scooter doesn’t mean I was pain free. Keeping my joints for any position for too long hurts and the vibrations of the cart can cause muscle spasms. The key was to get out of the scooter and stretch out in the floor while I waited for panels. This help my joints become more flexible and made it easier to walk.

I had an amazing time! I got to spend time with a close friend as well as catch up with a friend in Georgia that I hadn’t seen in a while.  I also made new friends (friends who also love Mass Effect).

The best part, of course, was seeing all the celebrities and artists. I went to a lot of panels and met some of my favorite people including Tricia Helfer, Emma Caulfield and Cary Elwes. The stars were so nice to me and I got to cut in line with my scooter. It also helped me get good spots at the panels. I always get there way earlier so I usually get great wheelchair seating.

Sunday was the culmination of all my fun. I got to meet Elwes (The Princess Bride). He does things differently than the rest of the stars. He took his time to meet with and to talk with me. We spoke of my condition and how we both tried each day to count our blessing. We both had opportunities that were given to us by God every day. Here I was talking God with a celebrity! When it was time for a picture he was happy to come to my chair, but I told him I was going to get up. He had tears forming in his eyes as I got up and he told me how brave and courageous I was and gave me a big long hug. He’s so right. God has given me opportunities each day for blessings and the strength not let my illness get me down.

The weekend was amazing on so many levels. Who thought I would have a deep spiritual conversation at a nerd convention? That’s the thing about us Christians. We’re everywhere!

imageedit_5_5756135746

With Cary Elwes of The Princess Bride, Saw, Robin Hood: Men Tights and Psych fame

, , ,

  1. #1 by Danielle on September 5, 2014 - 6:27 pm

    So glad you were able to go!!

Leave a Reply

