Peace~Audrey

In our lives we struggle with purpose, the meaning of success, what happiness is. I am designed with a need to help others and use my vast talents to do so.  I enjoy making the difference in people’s lives. But, sadly, I will not always do so.

At first, I was crushed when I didn’t have the talents needed to help a certain I child. I felt like I had failed him. I also didn’t know of anyone else who could help him better. I questioned myself and asked God to show me what I could do to become better.

As it often is, his answer was not what I would have expected. He didn’t change anything about what I did; instead he opened my mind to see something I hadn’t expected: not everyone wants our help or our type of help.

Instead of letting the parent judge me, I realize the difference between what I do and what she wants. I can only guide her to what she wants; because she does not want the kind of help I can give.  And this happens all the time in the real world. Some Friends don’t want our advice. Addicts don’t always want to get clean. Sinners often don’t confess.

We cannot make them change nor can we make them accept our help. We must accept that. It is not a failing on our part. The choice is theirs. By learning to accept this, my heart is at peace. Now I just have to make sure that lesson stays with me.

tumblr_ltfcuhw53s1qfxczpo1_400

  1. #1 by radical7even on October 9, 2014 - 7:57 pm

    Ironically, I was just looking at this prayer this morning. You are capable and talented. Parents sometimes dont have a clear understanding of what needs to be done (speaking from experience). We are too close and emotionally involved. Good for you for not taking it personally. Love you – Reneé

Leave a Reply

