Turn RIght or Go Straight **DaniGee**

bstudy

This past Wednesday, I decided to do something different. I decided to stop at a church for bible study. There are so many churches in between and around the 18 miles it takes for me to get home (they don’t call it the Bible belt for nothing). I was excited because bible study and Sunday school can be two of my favorite parts of church service. I love the conversation and to hear how another person interprets the bible and to see how they incorporate it in their life. For me, it is very informative and helps me with my Christian walk.

So, I went into the church randomly and it was a small group and they were very welcoming. OK, a good start. Then the pastor began to talk and for me it went downhill quick. It was less on the bible scriptures and more on ISIS, capital punishment, homosexuality. I am not saying that those topics doesn’t have a place in the church, it just wasn’t what I was looking for a midweek pick up.

I could look at this in 1 or 2 ways. 1. Yea, I won’t be going to any bible studies in the near future, especially not at that church. 2. This wasn’t what I was looking for but I will continue to search on. I chose the latter. The only way I can find what I am looking for is to try out new things. I can’t let one decision be my end all.

I equate this to my job decisions. Every job that I take on may not be exactly what I am looking for but it gets me closer to what I want or don’t want in a career. The only way I can find things out about myself is trying things out.

I encourage anyone who is contemplating do anything different, in any area of their life to give it a try. It can only be considered a failure if you choose for it to not to be a learning tool.

Bible Reference : Ecclesiastes 11:4-6 (NIV)
4 Whoever watches the wind will not plant;
whoever looks at the clouds will not reap.
5 As you do not know the path of the wind,
or how the body is formed[a] in a mother’s womb,
so you cannot understand the work of God,
the Maker of all things.
6 Sow your seed in the morning,
and at evening let your hands not be idle,
for you do not know which will succeed,
whether this or that,
or whether both will do equally well.

Keep Pushing with Optimism,

DaniGee

, , ,

  1. #1 by starsinhereye on October 10, 2014 - 7:13 pm

    Thank you for that reminder. I get so frustrated when I can’t find what I am looking for, that sometimes I just give up! Proud of you for not doing that!
    ~Audrey

Leave a Reply

