Christ Time~Audrey

Christmas.

A time to celebrate Christ.

That’s it.

And we all forget. We get caught up in the hustle and bustle of the holiday. We are grateful for days off. We worry about the perfect present. We watch Christmas special and have Linus remind us about the true meaning of Christmas.

I know I have trouble with this. We give gifts to other as Jesus was given gifts. But how much time do I spending giving him gifts? I gave him faith but he also wants my time and prayers—my companionship. But what do I do? I don’t give him enough time.

I struggle for more meaning. I know the story. I know how Jesus’ birth went down.  These historical references really don’t help me. What I need is to hear the excitement, feel the passion of the love of Jesus. Today’s Christian society has a very rote style of telling the story or we leave it to little children to reenact.

I will be pulling out my Bible and be reading for myself. And not just about his birth but about his miracles. About his life. About his temptation.  I will renew my passion for Christ during the celebration of his birth by digging deeper and letting him speaking to me by his word. I will pray in earnest. I will spend some real time in his presence.

I’ll let you know how it goes and how I feel. Until then: Hark! The herald angels sing “Glory to the Newborn King”!

  1. #1 by Renee N Smith on December 24, 2014 - 2:49 am

    Amen, this is so true. The true meaning gets lost in “tradition”. Thank you for the reminder! I’ll be reading as well

  2. #2 by radical7even on January 15, 2015 - 2:31 pm

    I love the song ‘Joy to the World’. That song just makes me imagine the unspeakable joy that they must have felt to the be in the presence of Jesus Christ, our savior.

    Dani

  1. And She Got Up~Audrey | radical7even

Leave a Reply

