And She Got Up~Audrey

During the Christmas Holidays I spent a lot of time reading the New Testament trying to feel closer to Jesus. In Christ Time, I discussed how I felt cut off from what Christmas actually was. So I spent time reading about more than just the manger, more than the wise men. I read about his birth, life and death and truly reveled in Jesus’ love and passion.

Funny thing, though. The passages gave me so much more than just a deeper understanding of Jesus. When I gave myself to him, he gave me a gift back: beautiful insight into his words and motivation for a renewed year of faith and love.

You’ve seen the movies where passages just light up singling that these verses are going to be important? Well, this was the emotional version of that.

Matthew 9: 18-25

While he was saying this, a synagogue leader came and knelt before him and said, “My daughter has just died. But come and put your hand on her, and she will live.”  Jesus got up and went with him, and so did his disciples.

Just then a woman who had been subject to bleeding for twelve years came up behind him and touched the edge of his cloak.  She said to herself, “If I only touch his cloak, I will be healed.”

Jesus turned and saw her. “Take heart, daughter,” he said, “your faith has healed you.” And the woman was healed at that moment.

When Jesus entered the synagogue leader’s house and saw the noisy crowd and people playing pipes, he said, “Go away. The girl is not dead but asleep.” But they laughed at him.  After the crowd had been put outside, he went in and took the girl by the hand, and she got up.

He went in and took the girl by the hand, and she got up. 

And she got up! 

I am not dead. I am just sick. I still have things to do. He wants me to get up and get moving. This seemingly simple revelation has spawned two projects. The first is an almost morbid idea that has been on my mind: writing letters to my loved ones that they can read in case something happens to me. I want each one of my family, friends, and loved ones to get know how much they meant to me. I don’t want heading on to Heaven stop this. So I plan to write these notes and file them away with my medical papers so, just in case, I can say good bye.

Also, I need a good name for these letters. Everything I come up with doesn’t really explain the joy it makes me feel to do this.

The second project is under wraps at the moment. I can tell you it is called The Spoon Project. This endeavor will combine my love for crafts with my passion for advocacy and, hopefully, lead me down a journey of identity. I have such big visions of such a simple thing; I just need to time to figure out how to do this. So, like in every portion of my life, please be patient. I am very excited and want to do this correctly. I hope it will touch you the way just the idea touches me.

I’m up. I’m moving. Most importantly, I am moving forward.

  1. #1 by Venus on February 1, 2015 - 4:22 am

    Hey Audrey! I think that Spoon Project is a great idea! I’m glad that you were able to dig into God’s word deeper & get closer to him!

Leave a Reply

