I Failed…. ***DaniGee***

…and it’s okay. I survived it. I’m still living. I didn’t lose any limbs. I can still remember it. It was the semester before I graduated with my Masters. I had to pass my written comprehensive exam. I was stressed to the point where I manifested physical pain. The day came and it was test time. I didn’t do well. I didn’t feel confident after I finished it but I was glad to have been done with it.

The day came for the results to come out. I got the dreaded call that I didn’t pass but that I had a chance to do an oral do-over. One of my professors had told me that I needed to talk to one of my other professors because she was upset that I didn’t do well on the portions that she taught. She was a teacher that I was already intimidated by so now I was expected to tell her why I had failed. She was upset and she let me know that she was upset. SO, not only did I have to deal with my own feelings of feeling like a failure but I also had to process feeling like I failed another person.

I don’t know how long it lasted but I walked around like I had a scarlet letter F on my forehead. I’m sure I ate more than was necessary and doubted my intelligence. Thankful for my support system, I was able to begin again. Beginning again meant figuring out what I needed to do to pass my test. In doing so, I had study groups with my cohorts and sharing what I had learned and what to expect.

The day came and I whipped that test’s butt. I just knew it. I felt more confident and know that I had given my all. The day came again and I got the call that I had passed! Not only had I passed but also did my cohorts.

Yes, I failed, but I didn’t say a failure. I picked myself up, dusted myself off, and pushed on.  This story is a helpful reminder to me that failing didn’t kill me. It not only helped me but I was also able to help others.

failure

Still Pushing with a look back in the past,

DaniGee

, , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by starsinhereye on January 26, 2015 - 11:45 pm

    Congrats on keep on pushing! What a great spin to put on that situation! Love you!
    ~Audrey

  2. #2 by Venus on February 1, 2015 - 4:14 am

    We all have our moments when we fail! I’m glad that you passed your comprehensive exam the 2nd time around w/ flying colors!

Leave a Reply

