The Persecuted Christain~Audrey

The Bible tells us that we will be persecuted for our belief in Christ. Christians have been and continue to be, but it seems lately I have heard that phrase a lot. As the country goes through another civil rights movement, certain groups of Christians are using their beliefs to control other people’s lives and crying persecution when they don’t get their way.

I will admit, I have been guilty of being intolerant of the intolerant. I believe whole heartedly that marriage equality should exist. Any one, no matter what religious or political beliefs they hold, are free to feel differently. I believe we have a right to our opinion as long as it doesn’t step on other’s civil rights. Allowing gay to marry has sparked many a debate and name calling. But now it is costing people church membership.

There have always been churches that don’t allow homosexuals or transvestites to attend services or become members. This isn’t news to me, but what is new is that there are churches who don’t want those that support marriage equality in their church.

This is where it gets personal. I found out that I was not welcome in a local church where I had spent some time in as a child. I am not gay. I have never questioned my heterosexuality. But I believe in equality for all. I live by “love thy neighbor as yourself.” I want to get married and have a family and am free to do so. My neighbor should be too.

But that isn’t the point of this post. What I want to convey is that we as Christians should quit persecuting each other. If we band together is Jesus’ love, then we can change the world and show the world what Christ is all about. We could make people understand and, with understanding, we will face less persecution. When we fight one another, we weaken our cause. We become less like Christ.

I had a friend asked me how I could continue to believe when people act like they do in the paragraphs above. I paused. Then I told her it was because of people like me. Love for all does exists; I just have to find those people who practice what they preach.

I was blessed last week to meet another one of those people. Someone who believe that loves is all that matters and we should treat everyone with Christ-like respect. This person has renewed my strength in this search and I may just have found another group of people who love like my Radical sisters do. I am praying for them and for those whose lives they touch.

I have let go of the anger and hurt from the above church because I know Christ’s love still lives on this planet. Let’s not squabble among ourselves; let’s unite in love and show the world what the followers of Christ are really like.

  1. #1 by Michael Moore on May 16, 2015 - 4:11 am

    As my dear wife says, Love Trumps! Keep the faith, Audrey… You are making a difference for Jesus ❤️

  2. #2 by Nicole Dawson (@brandnewNicole) on May 16, 2015 - 11:40 am

    I really need to be better about keeping in touch. I think of you ladies all the time and miss you greatly. I have been through so much over the years and never wrote about it. I would love to start blogging if I can figure it out! I hope you are well, Audrey. I am finally in a happy place in my life and couldn’t be more thankful.

  3. #3 by renee smith on May 18, 2015 - 12:38 am

    Hey hun
    so glad you found like minded people.
    the Christian journey can sometimes be lonely. I sometimes think of when Jesus was preparing to die and he asked his disciples to pray for Him, but they fell asleep. People can have the best intentions and still be unable to.fulfill what we need.

    Love you so much

Leave a Reply

