Sunshine and Blankets~Audrey

When you do not have a job, you find yourself with a lot of times on your hands. You can spend that time fighting inner demons or moping. Or you can do those things in a healthy manner as well as choose to be optimist about your future.

Two weeks ago, I looked out at the beautiful day and wished I could go outside and read. It’s a wish I ways have on beautiful Spring and Fall days, but have always been too busy with work to ever even attempt it. But that day I grabbed a blanket, my Emily Giffin book and laid out shade to read. The breeze was nice and the dogs ran around happy to be basking in the sun with me. Then last week I curled up in bed as it rained those beautiful summer rains where there was still light. Another great weather moment to enjoy reading and yet another thing I haven’t gotten to do in some time.

I have enjoy mid-day Starbuck gabbing sessions, lunches with my mother and grandmother, and just hanging out at my favorite store. (We all know which one that is, don’t we?). The best things is that I have gotten to stay in bed and sleep when I’ve been even the slightest bit sick. It has been wonderful, and, while it doesn’t keep me from getting sick, it has kept me from being even sicker. I often wonder how in the good Lord’s name I worked full time.

The truth is, it is because of God. He has given me mission to work with disadvantaged children and he keeps me going because that is the work he has ignited with in me. So this break is just a break. I’m not done and my illness hasn’t taken full control of me yet. It’s time to keep moving. Bring me that horizon!

11203042_897887031384_7702006445461509718_n

  1. #1 by renee smith on May 21, 2015 - 7:38 pm

    Love that positive attitude! I’m even happier that you’ve decided to rest and take much needed time for yourself. Love you honey!

  2. #2 by danigeorge25 on May 24, 2015 - 10:57 pm

    Beautiful post! Im glad youve been able to do some things youve wanted to do.

Leave a Reply

