Come With Me Now….I Bet My Life~Audrey

Afraid to lose control
And caught up in this world
I’ve wasted time, I’ve wasted breath
I think I’ve thought myself to death…
Now only this seems clear
I need to move, I need to fight
I need to lose myself tonight

Whoa, come with me now
I’m gonna take you down
Whoa, come with me now
I’m gonna show you how

“Come With Me Now”, Kongos

So God shut a down with a big slam in my face. But just the next day, he knocked on a new door. I tentatively looked in the peep hole. It was a great job in the area at a place called Bridges of Faith. Bridges of Faith bring Ukrainian orphans over to the US to experience American culture and receive the love of God.  I would be their resident grant person and would live on the 140 retreat.

All was fine and well until it was time to talk pay and salary. I had already told God I would accept a huge dip in pay to join this organization. I had bonded with the place and the people there. But then I found out that all BOF staff raises their own support. That’s right: I would have to beg people for money to pay me.

I hated this idea and took a step back. I stepped away from everything for about two days and prayed. This was scary. What if I couldn’t do it? I couldn’t do my job and be stressed out that I would loss my car. I hated asking for money! How could I do this?

But He told me I was supposed to be here. His peace is mine and I know that he will find a way to provide for me. So I threw that door wide open and walked in on faith. I followed him and I bet my life on this feeling, this draw I have towards this organization.

I started and, on day three, the children were there, and I knew without a doubt I had made the right decision. One day I got to spend it at my close friend’s farm with the kids. Good fellowship and horseback riding made for a great day. There was even a paint fight!

So here I go. In over my head but floating on faith!

 

I know I took the path that you would never want for me
I know I let you down, didn’t I?
So many sleepless nights where you were waiting up on me
Well I’m just a slave unto the night…
I know I took the path that you would never want for me
I gave you hell through all the years

So I, I bet my life, I bet my life
I bet my life on you
“I Bet My Life”, Imagine Dragons

 

If you would like to find out more about Bridges of Faith please visits: http://www.bridgesoffaith.com/
And if you are interested in making a tax deductible donation to BOF in my name, please contact audrey@bridgesoffaith.com
  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

