The Reason You Voted for a Republican is the Same Reason I Voted for Bernie Sanders~Audrey

I have made clear through out this blog that I am both a democrat and religious. You also know that I am not a typical Southern conservative Christian like many of those where I live and work. Because of this, I have a hard time fitting in. But I haven’t give up and I hope there are some of you out there are reading this with an open mind. For those of you with similar beliefs you know my plight.
The biggest draw of several Republican candidates are that they run on a platform of returning American to it Religious glory. I am not concerned with defending or arguing these ideas and if these ideas even lead to that moniker. The point is this they want Jesus back in this country. They feel like this can be done within the structure of the Republican party.
But what if I told you that is the exact same reason I am voting for Bernie Sander and that I want to see Christ like behaviors back in the country? Sanders doesn’t claim to be specifically religious and that fact that he is Jewish has been damaging him in the eyes of the Religious right. Here is what they don’t see: Sanders’ mission is promote equality among ALL Americans. The youth of the nation will not be turned away. Veterans who fight wars will not be left to live in a refrigerator box. Women will not be treated as second class citizens. The least of these will be cared for.
“The least of these” sounds familiar to you doesn’t it? Jesus was about caring for the down trodden, the turned away, the disenfranchised. He fought against greed and reminded us that money is not the key to happiness. To be clear, I don’t think Sanders is Jesus but I KNOW that he has the “love thy neighbor as thyself” down. The man was arrested for protesting segregation in the sixties, has fought for the rights of veterans and women, and rallies against the one percent who control majority of the wealth and get insane amounts of tax breaks. He is the embodiment of the Christianity I hold dear. I feel it is a shame that this ideas doesn’t come from one of the religious candidates. But we each have to cast our own lots.
I am not here to change your mind. I am here to explain how religion is not cut and dried. You can be religious and believe in the revolution of the American people and you can be religious and believe that protecting Christianity is enacting certain law. I am proud that there is a candidate whom people support based on their love for their fellow human beings as opposed ti say listening to someone just because they have money and yell really loudly. But please be respectful back. Today is Alabama’s primary and emotions will be running high, but let’s be excellent to each other. I think Jesus would like that.

 

And the King will say, “I tell you the truth, when you did it to one of the least of these my brothers and sisters, you were doing it to me!
Matthew 25:40

, , , , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by radical7even on March 8, 2016 - 3:43 pm

    I hate how politics can turn the most civil person into a rude hard, hearted person. Good for you for being both respectful and sure of your vote.
    Renee

Leave a Reply

