Punching the Time Clock~Audrey

I have made a positive start in taking care of my body. I already feel more upbeat and healthy. Now If I can just keep it up!

Keeping to my bodies’ schedule

The first step was to embrace my body’s time clock. I am a night owl. I stay up late and sleep late. It was really bad for a while because the pain was so bad, I couldn’t sleep even when I needed to. My treatments have helped that. Now I just have to embrace the way my body is.

So my new schedule is this:

  • Get home from work
  • Walk with the cat
  • Fix dinner
  • Relax; read my bible; create
  • Exercise and chores when my second wind hits
  • Take a quick shower
  • Read a book for fun; color
  • Into bed with a comfortable movie to fall asleep to

 

This really seems to work well. It boosts my mood before bed and helps me get my work out. I feel less tired as I embrace that I get going again at 7:30/8:00. I have accepted my weirdness and embraced it in a way that benefits me highly.

 

Being health and happy

The next step was making me happy. Exercise does not make me happy. I hate it! I don’t enjoy it. I enjoy walks with Tig. I enjoy SITTING out in nature.  I also hate doing chores. I finally made a schedule where I did one chore each day. But I never looked forward to it. I always felt too tired. Plus I was already down emotionally. The election is making me so sad that I have had to remove myself from it and bring back my boy band music (It always makes me feel better!).

Then I had a brilliant idea. I popped a 5ive CD into the BluRay player and started to rock out while I washed dishes. I had found the way to get exercise and get stuff done. It made me smile and I enjoyed self. So now I pop in my fave music and get my cardio on!

Not beating myself up

The last step is an important one. It is very important  for people with chronic illness but it is something that everyone needs to understand: sometimes were just can’t do it all and that is ok. There are days I just don’t feel good enough to dance because I’m in pain (but I will try) or chores don’t get done. I just double up when feel up to it. I also need rest days and, even though I have scheduled them, sometimes they come on different days. And it’s ok because this empowers me. Saying no but not giving up, accepting who I am. It’s already made  a difference on me both mentally, physically, and spirutally.

 

 

 

, ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

