Through The Looking Glass-Renee’

Then He said to Thomas, “Reach your finger here, and look at My hands; and reach your hand here, and put it into My side. Do not be unbelieving, but believing.” And Thomas answered and said to Him, “My Lord and my God!”
John 20:27‭-‬28 NKJV

How do you feel God speaks to you? Does He come in a still small voice,  use a friend you trust? How do you experience God?

Usually for me, it comes from something mundane, something easily overlooked…or some may feel I read too deeply into everyday things. I am of the belief, that if we pay attention He can speak to us using just about anything.

A few weeks ago, I watched Through the Looking Glass, the sequel to Alice In Wonderland. I won’t give up spoilers, but Alice says something in the beginning that made me think, “time is a thief”. It can definitely feel that way. The older I get the quicker time slides through my fingers. My 20s flew by…I can only imagine how my 30s will go. But time always makes you think,  we always fear time wasted or we spend time wallowing in regret. Time does not heal all wounds, in fact sometimes, time is the very thing helping the wound to fester. Which brings me to the opening Scripture. In this verse Jesus tells Thomas to feel His scars, the scars that days prior had lead Him to His death. Why would a risen Savior have fresh scars? Why had time and most importantly the miracle of resurrection not healed them? When Jesus brought Lazarus back to life there’s no mention of him not being fully restored,  so why would Jesus not be made “whole” again?

I never have stated that I’m a Biblical scholar by any means, but I think it’s a lesson for us today. Healing doesn’t always mean restoration. God did not bring Baby Smith back to me, God did not allow my cousin to not be murdered. The scars are still there, at certain moments like Jesus,  I almost feel that someone could touch them. But the scars are proof positive that I am still here. That for someone who maybe freshly scarred an example that healing doesn’t always look like total restoration. Like Jacob after he wrestled with an angel, maybe you may limp afterwards. There is no shame in the limp…or the scar.

It’s simply proof to some that you are indeed living.c2e942616225371554a0c53dfff4ba99

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

